A lesson in self-control (baking for others)

So, as my competition draws closer, I’ve started to cut the amount of carbs I eat (typically putting them at breakfast, and before and after training). I’m also ‘cycling’ my carbs: rather than taking in the same amount every day (regardless of the amount of training I do, which makes no sense to me), I take in more on heavy lifting days (or days when I lift and also do intervals), and fewer on rest or active recovery days.

It just so happens that today was a pretty low carb day. Not a problem (I actually prefer eating more protein than carbs): veggie/egg/salsa scramble for breakfast, baked oatmeal with berries after a short bike ride, cottage cheese with berries and nuts later on, big veg stir-fry and a salmon steak for dinner, and whey protein “icecream” for pud.

However, here’s the thing. The title of this blog post comes from the fact that I baked this afternoon. Not for myself. Nope, I made good on my promise to bake for my husband and his training partner Richard (of Richard’s TransRockies). As his blog’s name suggests, the two of them are currently training for the TransRockies mountain bike event, a stage race set over seven days and nights, in the Canadian Rockies.

These guys need their carbs. In fact they need all the ones I don’t eat, too.

So when I said I’d bake for them, I meant I’d be baking carbs, carbs and more carbs. I basically walked around the kitchen, looking in cupboards for all the things I don’t eat, and mixed those things in a bowl. The aim was to make a more savoury energy bar, as Richard gets sick of super-sweet stuff to eat on the bike. So, into my bowl went:

- oats
– brown rice flour
– salted pretzels
– broken-up rice cakes
– honey-roasted peanuts
– peanut butter
– date syrup
– blackstrap molasses

and…er..possibly something else, I can’t remember (If I’d known I was going to be blogging about this I would have written the ‘recipe’ down).

Did I sample a sneaky spoonful? Taste-test the batch? Nobble a nibble? Not me! My eye’s on the prize and eating like an endurance mountain biker won’t get me there. Not this year, anyway. Come back next year and, if I’m back doing triathlons and long-distance open-water swimming, it’ll be a different matter ;)

What do the bars taste like? Dunno, I couldn’t say. ;) My husband sampled a square and said “you have to blog about these!”. Then he had another and confirmed they are “definitely blog-worthy!” (so you have him to blame for this post). Hopefully Richard will give me his review when he’s tasted them, too.

What about me? Well, I’m home alone this weekend whilst the chaps (fuelled by pretzel-peanut energy squares) ride the Dyfi Enduro. So….shall I bake Jamie Eason’s carrot cake protein bars, her cinnamon swirl protein bread, or my coach Kat’s swede cake (yes, really – it’s great – even my husband liked it and he’s very much a ‘traditional baked goods’ kind of a man)?

Can you bake for others without sneaking a bite? Do you prefer more savoury or sweet energy foods? Do you have a favourite low(er) carb, high(er) protein baking recipe for me to try? :D

PS Frankie says thank you for all your questions – he’ll answer them this weekend. There’s still time to ask him that burning question you’ve been wanting to get off your chest. Just leave a comment on this post.

A lesson in self-control (baking for others) is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

7 Responses to A lesson in self-control (baking for others)

  1. Richard says:

    I hope Mark has left some for me!!!

    • thefitwriter says:

      I wrapped them up and put them in a tupperware – he doesn’t know where the tupperware is ;) Hope you like them…they’re not savoury as such but hopefully they’re a lot less sweet than commercial bars. Mark said they’re not mega-chewy, nor crumby/flaky…so should be OK to eat whilst riding. I won’t be offended if you decide not to risk it during a race though! Good luck! :D

  2. haha! Great post :) I sort of wish you had the recipe! I’m getting sick of my sweet homemade protein bars.

    I have to make food that I can’t sample all the time for Max. He’s in keto — high protein, high fat, low low low (less than 15g/day) carb diet — so anything I make for him won’t fit my macros!

    • thefitwriter says:

      Really there wasn’t a recipe, I just eyeballed it. Let me try to think:
      – dry oats (maybe 1.5 c), brown rice flour (maybe 3 tbsp) and a little salt.
      – crumbled in I think 4, maybe 5, rice cakes (broken into bits)
      – crumbled in about 1.5 c broken-up mini pretzels (the little hard ones, not the big doughy ones)
      – broke up about 0.5c honey roast peanuts and added them
      – blended up sesame seeds, honey roast peanuts and one spoonful of PB, til it vaguely made a paste, stirred/smashed this in to the bowl
      – mixed some blackstrap molasses and date syrup, poured it over the mix and mixed it all up (just til it looked wet enough to bind)
      – added a pour of egg whites as I thought it needed something to bind it during baking

      Greased two pans, pressed the mix down, baked for about 15 mins til it smelled a bit like it was burning and I started to worry.

      Took them out, let them cool in the pan and then froze them before slicing.

      I think that was it! Can you tell I like to experiment and make it up as I go along?!

      Less than 15g/day carbs?! Ay caramba, that is very very low! :-O

  3. Juliet says:

    HAHA I loved the photos with this post. You are ADORABLE in your apron and ridic biceps that I can see through your sleeves. It reminds me of rosie-the-riveter.

    I’d share recipes if I had them. Right now my brain is on melt down as I enter the final week in a TWENTY FIVE week cut. I started my prep with all sorts of creative-keep-my-sanity recipe alternatives… by now though I have just given up HAH.

    • thefitwriter says:

      Ha thanks! I had to google Rosie the Riveter – I know the image but had no idea that was her name. I do love my apron – I actually asked for a cute apron for our “cotton” anniversary. My husband was like “really? this isn’t some sort of joke?” I spend so much time in gym kit I like to feel a bit girlie sometimes ;)

  4. [...] last thought on energy products……make your own!  Or better yet, get someone else to make them for you!  Mark’s wife, Nic, made us some energy bars for the Dyfi..and they were great….a [...]

Please leave a reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,046 other followers

