Open-water training venues in the UK

Open-water swimming has exploded in popularity over the past few years, with its inclusion in the Summer Olympics serving to seal the deal. More and more people are taking to the open-water for training and events, whether they’re neoprene-clad triathletes or open-water swimmers getting ready for BLDSA-type swims.

Where I train (view from the water) - points for recognising it


With that in mind, I thought I’d pull together a list of open-water swimming training venues around the country. I’ve avoided putting any unofficial or unmanned sessions in this list, in the interests of swimmer safety. Thanks to everyone on Twitter who responded to my call for venues! If I’m missing any – as I’m almost certain I am – please let me know.

Where’s your favourite training venue? I love hearing about where people swim. Hit me up in the comments. In the meantime, get out there and enjoy! πŸ™‚

Open-water swimming training venues

BERKSHIRE
Copthorne Lake, Reading
Liquid Leisure, Datchet

BUCKINGHAMSHIRE
Westhorpe Water Sports Centre, Little Marlow
Taplow Open Water Swim , er…Taplow! πŸ˜‰

CHESHIRE
Boundary Water Park, Knutsford
Manley Mere, Frodsham
Dock 9, Salford
Salford Quays
Liverpool Docks

DEVON
sea sessions, Teignmouth

ESSEX/NE LONDON
Fairlop Waters, Barkingside
Gosfield Lake, Braintree

GLOUCESTERSHIRE/WILTSHIRE
Cotswold Water Park (Lake 16 and 32), near Swindon and Cirencester

HAMPSHIRE
Lakeside Multisports, Eastleigh

HERTFORDSHIRE
Redrick Lake, Harlow/Sawbridgeworth

KENT (my home county :D)
Dover Harbour (my old stomping ground)
Haysden Lake, Tonbridge
Leybourne Lakes, Larkfield

LEICESTERSHIRE
Bosworth Water Trust, Market Bosworth

LONDON
Serpentine, Hyde Park
Stubbers Adventure Centre, Upminster

MID-ARGYLL
Loch Craignish, Loch Coille Bharr, Carsaig, Loch Aral and Easdale (quarries and pools)

MIDDLESEX
Heron Lake, Wraysbury
Princes Club, Bedfont

NORTHUMBERLAND
Queen Elizabeth II Country Park, Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
Ladybird Lake, Druridge Bay Country Park , Morpeth

NORTH YORKSHIRE
Ellerton Lake, Scorton
Hetton Lyons Country Park, Houghton le Spring

NOTTINGHAMSHIRE
National Watersports Centre, Holme Pierrepont

SHROPSHIRE
The Mere, Ellesmere

STAFFORDSHIRE
Manor Park Sailing Club, Kings Bromley

SURREY/SW LONDON
Thames Young Mariners Lake (Ham Lake), Richmond-upon-Thames
The Quays, Mytchett Lake, Farnborough/Camberley

WEST YORKSHIRE
Otley Sailing Club Lake, Otley

WORCESTERSHIRE
Top Barn Activity Centre, Worcester

One Response to Open-water training venues in the UK

  1. […] on Saturday my bike and I got dropped off at the open-water swim venue at the Copthorne Hotel in Reading, where I met my friend Alice and her fiance Paul for a […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

