Windsor Triathlon in pictures

Yesterday saw the 20th running of the iconic Windsor Triathlon. I was racing courtesy and on behalf of Sportsister magazine. I owe them a race report in return so won’t blog about my day here before they’ve published the article. In the meantime, here are a few pictures to give you a bit of an insight.

Great event, by the way. Fully deserves all the accolades which the tri community have bestowed upon it over the years.

Thanks to the good folk at Human Race for all their organisation (and for the press place!), all the marshalls (gathered from local clubs and groups including the Datchet Dashers) and last but not least to my husband who got up at 4:30am and did a sterling job as my own personal support crew.

The day before: jungle transition is massive

The day before: scoping out the swim start and really hoping these guys aren’t here tomorrow. Give me jellyfish over swans any day

Race day, 5:30am: Setting up in transition and listening to some choons. Eminem, since you ask.

Spreading my stuff out and feeling glad the woman next to me decided not to show up.

Full transition. Many many beautiful bikes.

Going to my swim start

And I’m off! Along with a good few others. See you in 1.5kms.

At (long) last, here I am. Loving that chap’s straw hat

Multi-tasking: getting out of the water, running up concrete steps, unzipping my wetsuit.

T1, getting out of my wetsuit and getting ready to ride

42kms later, riding back into transition

Final stretch. Just a 10k to run

Nearly finished!

Busy transition in the sunlight. After all that, it’s barely 9:30am…!

Congrats to everyone who raced at Windsor yesterday.

6 Responses to Windsor Triathlon in pictures

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Nicola Joyce, Nicola Joyce. Nicola Joyce said: Windsor Triathlon race report in pictures https://thefitwriter.wordpress.com/2010/06/14/windsor-triathlon-in-pictures/ […]

    Like

  2. Jay Peg says:

    You may find yourself in this gallery:
    http://jaypegphoto.thirdlight.com/libraryhome.tlx

    Enjoy !
    Jay

    Like

  3. […] a weird time to race. Triathletes are more used to, say, ooh I don’t know, 6am. Even in the height of Summer, 6am isn’t hot. 3pm, however….is. Today was muggy and […]

    Like

  4. […] magazine to take part and cover the event for their publication and website so, like the Windsor Triathlon, I won’t do a proper write-up here (I’ll post a link to the Sportsister story when […]

    Like

  5. […] Triathlon race report live on Sportsister When I blogged about the Windsor Triathlon, I mentioned that I couldn’t give a full write-up because I’d been commissioned by […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

