How a swimming journalist works

Whilst the majority of my work days are spent at my desk researching, sending pitches, looking for case studies and writing, my work as a triathlon and swimming journalist does take me to some less-typical “office spaces”.

Remember the time I had a coaching session in London’s Serpentine Lido with Keri-Anne Payne’s open-water coach and then wrote up my notes from this deck-chair in Hyde Park?

Or the times I conducted interviews with Liam Tancock and Bill Furniss on the side of a swimming pool whilst in a towel (me, not Liam or Bill)?

Not to mention that one time I interviewed top triathlete Tim Don. He was in an ice-bath, in his pants. He said it was OK!

Last week I had a couple of bits of triathlon kit to test for 220 Triathlon and Triathlete’s World, so took myself to Hampton Lido (I know! It’s heated: what’s happened to me? Well, you try and find a body of open-water in Berkshire in November. Not easy.)

Here she is: 36m of heated loveliness under the crisp November air

After testing some great goggles and a really exciting yet-to-be-released wetsuit (keep your eyes on 220 Triathlon and Triathlete’s World for the reviews!), I went up to the lido’s roof cafe to write my notes.

Bypassing the array of giant muffins and cookies the size of my face, of course (since I’m currently on week 6 of 8…)

And this was my peaceful view.

Do you sometimes get to work somewhere other than your office? And do you have an interesting view from your desk?

How a swimming journalist works is a post from The Fit Writer blog

4 Responses to How a swimming journalist works

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Swim Bike Run, Nicola Joyce. Nicola Joyce said: How does a #swimming and #triathlon journalist work? My experiences: http://ow.ly/36q8e […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

