Guest post: Kat Millar, personal trainer and figure competitor

For the past six weeks, I’ve been working remotely with London-based personal trainer Kat Millar. She’s been guiding me through nutrition and gym-based training with the goal being body-recomposition. In a (healthy fat) nutshell: less fat, more muscle, with some super strength-gains on the side.

In just six weeks I’ve had some astounding results (I’m going to post an update soon) but, more importantly, the programme Kat’s given me has been enjoyable. Not just doable but actually interesting, challenging and – yes – enjoyable.

Kat is a great PT and, in her own right, a very successful “Trained Figure” competitor (a class of competitive body building). She came 2nd in a national contest just a few weeks ago.

If any of you have been considering hiring a personal trainer, I can highly recommend you get in touch with Kat. You don’t have to be training for a competition. Your goal could be general weight loss, fat loss, specific strength or fitness gains. The bespoke programme I’ve been doing is her 8-week virtual coaching one. You can find details here.

I asked Kat to write a little about why she trains and competes as a figure competitor, because it’s a world I find fascinating. What drives her, what does she get out of it and what does she love about the sport?

Here’s what she had to say. And here is Kat’s own blog – check it out for lots of free tips, recipes and motivation! Thanks for the guest post, Kat!

=

Being a figure competitor requires a great deal of mental and physical energy, but it’s one of the best things I’ve ever done – and probably will ever do (besides getting married and having babies of course! 😉 ) It’s about so much more than looking good on stage. It helps keep me disciplined and focused and gives back so many positive feelings. It’s more than worth it.

(That's me on the far left winning 2nd place at the NPA National Championships)

The lessons I’ve taken from competitive bodybuilding can be applied to so many areas of life. I’m sure most people who play sport – or do anything competitive – will attest to this.

Some of the many things I’ve learned from competing in Figure

– How to push myself beyond what I thought I was capable of
– How to believe in myself and my abilities
– That I do have what it takes (I never knew this before!)
– How important the mind is – in everything!
– The art of self-discipline and sacrifice
– That having a big goal and seeing progress in your work towards it is the most motivating thing in the world
– The art of delaying gratification in order to achieve something greater
– Lessons and skills that I can apply for the rest of my life when it comes to fat loss and body composition (my own and that of my clients)

I now know how to remain within a certain weight range that I’m happy with, and exactly how to get myself there. I recorded everything I did to get me to the place where I’m happiest with my body, so I now have a blue-print plan that works for me. It’s the law of cause and effect in action, right there in black and white. It works: no questions, doubts or confusion. For me, these guidelines provide safety for any future journeys like this, by removing the guess work.

I also understand my clients better. By taking myself through the weight-loss journey, I’ve picked up lots of tips and inspiration I can pass on to those I work with. To me, training hard, proper recovery and eating right is part of ‘walking the talk’ (I never want to be someone who tells people to do things I wouldn’t or couldn’t do myself).

My ongoing focus is helping as many people as I can to achieve success, whatever success means to them. My goal is to help people attain what it is they really desire in terms of their body and health. The enormous benefits you receive from proper training, correct nutrition, and a healthy lifestyle are too great to list. Once people experience a taste of it, they can become very addicted to the benefits!

Kat Millar, personal trainer
=
Guest post: Kat Millar, personal trainer and figure competitor is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

3 Responses to Guest post: Kat Millar, personal trainer and figure competitor

  1. kittymartine says:

    Wowser…I have a way’s to go LOL You are an inspiration

    Kit

    http://katrinemartine.wordpress.com/

    Like

  2. […] Guest post: Kat Millar, personal trainer and figure competitor « The fitness industry's c… […]

    Like

  3. Hi everyone, I was looking for a good articles about workout and exercises because I’m really sport addict, and every good article about wotkout is welcome. I really enjoyed reading this article… All credits to the author…

    Like

Please leave a reply

