8-week gym challenge – one week to go!

😦 Only one week left of the 8-week challenge I’ve been doing under the guidance of personal trainer Kat Millar.

Kat initially provided me with three sessions to do in the gym: one for upper body, one lower body and one full body circuit. She then gave me a couple of kit-free sessions I could do in our hotel room when we went to France. Since then, she’s given me another three sessions to replace the initial lot, so I can keep on challenging myself.

One of my personal goals when we started was to be able to do 10 (unassisted) chin-ups. I could do three when we started. Yesterday, before heading to the gym with my trusted weighted vest (my favourite little black number πŸ˜‰ ), I did a chin-up test at home just to see how far I’d got. Not to 10, as it turns out!

Video below (excuse the less than perfect form – if anyone has any tips or feedback for improving my chin-ups, please comment!) I’d done a session of upper-body supersets the day before (got to get my excuses in, right?)

My husband came to the gym with me today, so I got him to snap some sneaky pics on my phone whilst no-one was looking.

I’m meant to be getting funny looks, not giving them…. (step-ups onto a bench with lunge)

Improvised Woodchoppers (we have no cable machine). It later dawned on me that I could use a resistance band.

Very serious clean and presses πŸ˜‰

Even more serious one-handed tricep dips πŸ˜‰

I look very cross in most of these. I wasn’t! πŸ™‚

I’ve also been doing a few sessions with my weighted-vest on. The easiest way to carry it is to wear it so, yep, I’ve been walking through our neighbourhood to the gym with a 10kg vest on.

Hi! I’m a nerd!

One more week to go! I’ll do a round-up post this time next week πŸ™‚ In the meantime if you want to see how I’ve been getting on over these past eight weeks, all the posts I’ve written (not that many) are here.

How’s your training going? And what’s keeping you focused, motivated and working hard?

10 Responses to 8-week gym challenge – one week to go!

  1. Kat says:

    Great article Nic!! I love the pics and especially the video! Amazing! To increase the number, once you hit failure, do the rest as jumping up and lowering yourself down slowly.
    MAN 7 chin ups is so GOOD FOR A GIRL!!! Hahaha I hate it when p…eople say that! lol… But you’re my only girl client who can do more than 5 unassisted, and most women can’t do any so hats off to you! Buff, lean, totally hot AND Strong!!! Lucky hubby!

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Thanks for the support and encouragement Kat! :-O that I’m your only client (at the mo!) who can do 5+ chins…come on ladies, get strong! πŸ˜€

      Will show your comment to my husband ha ha πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. Anth says:

    Awesome, well done if you can do 8 then 10 is so close.

    Just popped by following a link from KAt’s fb profile.

    As I climber I got well into pull ups of various kinds and my top tips for increasing the number are:

    1. When you’ve done as many as you can have your husband gently support your weight and squeeze out 1 0r 2 more – other options are to put feet on chair and gently raise yourself, or use bungy cords…

    2. Or wait 10 seconds and get on and push out 1 or 2 more. then repeat

    Kat’s the woman to ask, but I’d say only do this extra stuff once a week and do your noraml routine on the other days.

    To improve form can use a bungy cord to support weight as you go closer to straight – but go careful and don’t drop onto full lock out of your elbows will complain.

    Have fun…

    Anth.

    but like I said earlier – if you can do 8 you are so close to doing 10

    Like

  3. richard kalka says:

    Huge effort well done πŸ™‚ I am currently training to nail a challenge. It is to jog up a very steep hill called the “Bullock Track ” in NZ with a 9kg weight vest on thanks for your inspiration.

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Whoah that sounds hardcore! I wear a weighted vest but only for fast walking on the treadmill (steep incline) or things like step-ups. Running with it on would be very tough! And uphill too…

      Go for it! πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. Kat says:

    I love how you guys need to add weight to your lean machine bods to make the training more hard-core!! I need to start the ‘one percent’ club!

    Like

  5. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kat Millar, Nicola Joyce. Nicola Joyce said: I've got just 1 week left of my 8-week gym challenge. Here's my chin-up test: http://ow.ly/3a3nB #fitness #sport […]

    Like

  6. […] And so it went. You can read about the challenges, my workouts and my thoughts on the 8-week plan in the following posts: the start of the challenge, what’s involved, obstacles, weight training, whilst on holiday and progress with one week to go. […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

