Fitness DVD review: 5 Day Fit Yoga

As I mentioned in a previous post, my friends and I kept some semblance of training going over New Year, despite all being together on the type of holiday which centres around a daily evening ritual of a huge dinner, cheese, port and…oh….it pains me to think about it. I believe the word is over-indulgence.

Anyway, we really did do our best to off-set some of our intake (or at the very least to sweat some of the hangover out) by exercising once or twice a day. Some mountain biked. Others walked. My friend Jo (a PT) and I, along with our friend Penny on a few occasions, chose to train indoors. In this series of blog posts, I’ll review the bits of kit we used and the DVDs we tried out.

Jo, Penny and I tried a couple of tracks from the 5 Day Fit Yoga DVD which has (you may have guessed), 5 yoga sessions on it. The sessions are categorised by morning and evening (with an added stress relief one thrown in at the end). We didn’t have time to do all of them (er…we had a lot of lounging around to do, and all that cheese to eat), but we did two of them. I’ll let you know what we though but, first, here’s the blurb:

Transform your mind and body with Suzanne Deason & Rod Stryker’s 5 Day Fit Yoga. With the help of Yoga masters Rod Stryker and Suzanne Deason, these five energising workouts will put a daily dose of variety into your at-home yoga practise.

Start your morning with AM Peak Performance Yoga with Rod Stryker, which is guaranteed to optimise your mental and physical well-being with a series of gentle morning stretches to help awaken the body.

Keep the spring in your step with AM Yoga For Weight Loss with Susan Deason. Taking you through a gentle selection of morning Yoga exercises to help maintain weight loss, this workout restores a strong connection between the body and mind.

After a busy day rushing around, unwind with Rod Stryker’s PM Peak Performance which focuses on breathing and relaxation techniques and helps ‘soften’ the mind.

If you’re looking to lose some pounds, Susan’s PM Yoga For Weight Loss workout includes a series of energising and fluid movements to relax the body and mind at the end of a hectic day.

Feeling stressed out? Unwind, soothe and relax yourself with Stress Relief Yoga, a calming workout to revitalise your mind, body and spirit.

So what are you waiting for? Unroll your mat, switch off your mind and give your body a well deserved break.

As I said in my review of Rodney Yee’s Ultimate Power Yoga DVD, none of us are yogis. We’ve all been to Body Balance, but that’s about the extent of it.

First up, Jo and I did Suzanne (or is it Susan? the blurb calls her both) Deason’s PM Yoga for Weight Loss (we wanted to make some room for cheese). Now, you’d think a yoga session with “weight loss” in the title would be dynamic, getting the heart pumping, no? Well, no. I think perhaps Suzanne/Susan focuses more on the mental side of weight loss, as this 20-minute session was very calming and meditative, and I can’t imagine it burned many calories.

Suzanne (that’s what I’m going to call her) is a soothing presence on the screen, and looks a bit like a super-bendy Kim Cattrall. Also, I think she was using the same venue as Rodney, although Rodney wasn’t there.

Anyway, the session was short, relaxing and not particularly challenging, but then it is billed as a series of movements to energise and relax you after a hectic day. Our day had not been particularly hectic, it has to be said. Perhaps I’ll do it again this week so I can really feel the benefit.

It wasn’t what we were expecting, probably because of the name (“weight loss”). But it was nice. I liked Suzanne. Jo’s a personal trainer and said she thought Suzanne’s instructions were clear and easy to follow, and her verbal and visual cues were in synch. Certainly we could follow everything without feeling rushed or confused.

Another day, Penny joined Jo and I to do AM Peak Performance Yoga led by Rod Stryker. Again, I felt the name misled me a bit. Maybe it’s because I’m sporty but, to me, performance means athletic performance so I was expecting something cardiovascular. I guess others might think performance means mental clarity or confidence. I think they’d be on the same page as Rod.

This session is designed for mornings, to get your mind and body awake and ready to face the day. I really should try it again when I have a day’s work ahead of me rather than a day’s holiday. Apart from feeling slightly confused about what kind of peak performance this was gearing us up for, all three of us really liked this session. It was very gentle, great for first thing in the morning we thought.

I’ve got a note here which says “very hippy-dippy language”. Sorry, Rod. I can’t recall any specific quotes (Jo, can you?) but I do recall getting a fit of the giggles at least once.

Rod doesn’t give any options for beginners (nor for more adept yogis), and sometimes his descriptions weren’t good enough for us – we’d look up only to find he’d moved onto something else and we hadn’t quite realised.

The end was a bit funny: it stops a bit suddenly and we all felt a little bereft, thinking Rod had left us without so much as a “namaste”. He hadn’t! After a few seconds (of silent contemplation?) the camera comes back to Rod, who then takes you on a journey of yogic breathing and some funny relaxation techniques. I rather liked them actually, but I can imagine that for anyone “not into all that”, this section of the session would be a bit much.

This isn’t a DVD to do when you’re in a rush, as it does focus on the spiritual side of yoga as much as the stretchy. That being said, if you can find time (it’s only 30 minutes) to really relax, I think you’ll enjoy it.

Namaste! 😉

Fitness DVD review: 5 Day Fit Yoga is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Please leave a reply

