Fitness physique photoshoot

Just before Christmas, I was lucky enough to be asked to act as the body for a physique photo shoot. Dale Strickland-Clark, a professional photographer (and husband of my friend, sports masseur and fitcamp instructor, Heidi), had heard about my 8-week body recomp challenge and asked if I’d go along to his lovely studio so he could take some physique shots for his portfolio.

I ummed and ahhed (not being used to that kind of thing!) and then thought of course I will! A free photoshoot with some professional images at the end of it? OK!

The shoot was quite an eye-opener: professional fitness models out there have my respect – it is not easy to hold “flexed” poses for a long time, making sure you’re balanced and symmetrical, all the while trying to look “serene” (ha ha – not sure I ever achieved that part!) Thank you Dale for a fun photoshoot and a great set of images. Here are some of them.





Muscle model photo

PS It should be noted I am not currently that tanned, pumped up or dieted down ๐Ÿ˜‰ (Yes, I sought expert advice on the topic of “Help, I’m being photographed in sports kit and need to look my best as quickly as possible!”)

11 Responses to Fitness physique photoshoot

  1. Shambler says:

    Truly inspirational!

    Like

  2. april says:

    Wow you look fantastic!! I especially love the back one- you have a gorgeous back!

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m a swimmer (or at least, that’s my background) – so my lats and traps are very strong. In fact I have a hard time “switching off” my traps sometimes!

      Like

      • april says:

        I have that problem with traps too but have no real reason why! I’m trying not to add any size to them, but they keep wanting to grow!

        Like

      • thefitwriter says:

        Ha, well if you learn how, please come back and tell me! At the moment I’m really trying to learn how to switch mine off whilst activating my lats, but they just won’t shut up ๐Ÿ˜‰ I should stretch more…

        Like

  3. Christina says:

    WOWW is all I can say!! you have my dream fitness level!! This is my first time on your blog and I’m definitely bookmarking it. i need to know what you do girl! *goes to read more*

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Hi! And thank you. I read your blog, too! My background is in open-water swimming and triathlon but I’m going to be taking a different direction this year to step outside my comfort zone! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚ Nic

      Like

  4. Kristen says:

    Wow — your back is awesome! That’s one of my strong
    points, too, so I always like to see another strong one! P.S. Side
    delts, too!!

    Like

  5. […] On Wednesday, I had a photoshoot with Dale Strickland-Clark of Immortaleyes Photography (also on Facebook.). You may recall I had a shoot with him months ago after my initial 8-week body recomp gym challenge. Those photos (or some of them) are here. […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

