Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Budokon yoga, Exhale recovery shoes

Hello!

I’m off to India with my bezzie mate tomorrow (yippee!) so I’ll keep this short (ish) and sweet: here’s another “fitness kit I’ve tested this week” post for you. By the way, I have a great selection of guest posts lined up whilst I’m away. I hope you enjoy them; please feel free to let me know (either way!) in the comments.

OK, without further ado: fitness kit I’ve tested this week.

Budokon yoga

When I was invited to have a 1-2-1 session of Budokon yoga, I’ll admit that I rocked up without having done my research. I thought it would be stretchy, lying-downy kind of yoga, ideal after the day I’d had (basically wasting several hours of my life going through the rigours of obtaining a Visa to go to India. Top tip: don’t admit to being a journalist! Although I’m not really sure why it’s a problem…)

So I arrived at the beautiful Evolve Wellness Centre in London (if you get a chance to go, do. It’s fantastic!) for my Budokon lesson with Ryan Carldon-Miah, Budokon’s UK Director, thinking I was in for a lovely relaxing time. I was wrong! Well, that’s not quite true. I did walk out of Evolve incredibly relaxed, but it wasn’t from lying down in corpse pose.

Here’s what Ryan has to say about Budokon:

Budokon was created in 2000 in Los Angeles. It’s a blend of martial arts, yoga, meditation and “animal movements”. The combination works to provide a fun and challenging workout with a varied array of exercises, giving a well-rounded practice. For those looking for the ultimate challenge we offer the Budokon Academy, taking participants from White to Black belt through our six-pillar system which focuses on thought, emotions, relationships, nutrition, environment and fitness.

All of the techniques in the system are designed to create power, strength and muscle tone whilst also providing flexibility, range of motion and core conditioning. Combining the animal movements with the yoga means a class can give you a fast and furious cardio blast along with the relaxing and restorative properties of yoga in one workout.

My verdict? I LOVED it. And I don’t say that often about new (to me) forms of exercise which I can’t go and do quietly by myself. I absolutely loved the way Budokon blends the flowing, graceful moves of martial arts and the strong stances of yoga, and the animal poses were great fun and very hard work! I found it challenging, fun and energising, and it totally turned my mood around.

This is what we covered (you can view videos – not of me! – here)

(Martial arts) – Pivot punches and knee strikes

(Yoga) – Rolling Wave, Floating Frog and Dancing Dog (look on youtube for these if you’re interested – they look beautiful when done properly!)

(Animals) – Komodo dragon and leaping leopard (I was convinced I wouldn’t be able to do the latter but, surprisingly, I could one of those things where you just have to give it a go without overthinking it).

If you get the chance to try a Budokon class, taster session or course, please do. I hope you’ll love it as much as I did. Thank you to Ryan for his time, good humour and patience!

Exhale recovery shoes

You know those items you would never have thought you needed until you got them? And then you wonder how you ever did without them? These shoes are one of those things. The idea is simple: plenty of us go to the gym and do a massive legs session, or go out and pound the pavements on a long run and then come home…and put our slippers on. Or walk around the house in socks. Our poor feet and legs! Do we really expect to make the transition from high-impact, repetitive sport in supportive shoes to….no support at all? Well, yes, we do. I certainly did, until I tried out the Exhale recovery shoes from Sole.

Now, these shoes are not the sexiest things you’ll ever have put on your feet, that’s for sure. But they’re not for wearing out and about. They’re for popping on your feet when you get back from running or the gym, and they’re great for that. They’re cosy, with fluffy insides, and have mouldable footbeds and support all the bones in your feet, as well as your arches. Here’s the blurb:

The Exhale features the same wear moldable, orthopedic platform as our original Sport Flips. This slipper/shoe hybrid is perfect for all sorts of activities, from après-ski to lounging around the house. A Sherpa lined footbed and fold down heel panel offer slip-in comfort. A uniquely styled upper made with mini-ripstop polyester featuring insulated baffles guarantees maximum coziness. An inner PU coating makes these water-resistant and Polygiene® helps combat foot odor. All SOLE Custom Footwear is wear moldable, to conform to your feet.

Yes, they look weird (I advise you get the black!) but it’s not about what they look like. It’s about looking after your feet after you’ve asked so much of them during training, not just getting home and clomping about the house. I really like them.

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Budokon yoga, Exhale recovery shoes is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

One Response to Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Budokon yoga, Exhale recovery shoes

  1. Hello! I realize this is somewhat off-topic however I
    needed to ask. Does operating a well-established blog like yours take
    a massive amount work? I am brand new to running a blog but I
    do write in my diary everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my personal experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

    Like

Please leave a reply

