Why lift weights?

Regular readers will know I’m currently doing a great deal of heavy lifting of weights as I prepare for a figure (bodybuilding) comp. I’m often asked about the benefits of weights (over cardio), particularly by women.

I think this picture (stolen from a friend of a friend’s Facebook page – thank you!) explains it more clearly than words can.

Nifty, hey?

Do you lift weights? Do you care about the number on the scale?

Why lift weights? is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

3 Responses to Why lift weights?

  1. Great picture!

    As you know I lift — for this precise reason! Plus I like feeling strong πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. Juliet says:

    HAHA YES! I love that! I might show that to all my coworkers. In clothing, I look wirey and petite (I’m a small size 2 and 120 lbs contest size) and one woman said to me today “How are you going to compete? You don’t look like you have a lot of muscle”

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Ha ha! It’s weird isn’t it, sometimes and in some settings I feel small….in others I feel “big”. I guess it’s all about context. Absolutely PMSL about you not having a lot of muscle – what does she think a lot of muscle looks like? The guys on ‘roids you see on the cover of muscle mags, I guess?

      Not long for you now….eeee! πŸ˜€

      Like

Please leave a reply

