Easter eggs: figure prep-style

I’m now 10 weeks out from my figure/physique* competition (*the jury’s still out on which category I’ll be competing in). The diet is tightening up (and so am I), and it’s all good.

What you eat during contest prep takes some thought and planning if you want to succeed. Thankfully, I am married to a patient and understanding man who used to train as a bodybuilder and fully supports what I am doing. He’s sporty himself, although he’s an endurance athlete (read his training partner’s blog for a peek into their world) so he’s all about the carbs. As his training partner Richard once said, we’re a little like Jack Spratt and his wife in that sense (although the opposite way round).

Today is Easter Sunday, traditionally a day of chocolate. Chocolate eggs, mini eggs, easter egg hunts, chocolate eggs with extra chocolates inside, chocolate eggs with fondant inside. None of which are on my radar. That’s fine by me – I haven’t eaten chocolate or sweets in a while now and I honestly don’t miss it (I never was a sweet chocolate person; very dark bitter chocolate is more my thing).

So what did my husband present me with after I’d hidden a few little eggs around the house for him and then given him his chocolate egg?

The perfect Easter present for any figure competitor in training.

Actual eggs. The real deal. Full of protein and all-round complete meal-in-a-shell wonder. I thought you might like to see.

Check out the artwork!

(If you can’t read it, it says “Easter bunny…honest!”) It should be pointed out my husband is a scientist, not a creative.

Thank you, husband ❀ xxx

And here are the pretty eggs back in the kitchen with their cousins: more eggs, some hardboiled eggs, and some cartons of egg whites. PROTEIN FTW πŸ˜‰

Are you following a diet or nutrition plan? What did your friends, family or significant other get you for Easter?
Aaaand…what’s your favourite way to eat EGGS? πŸ˜€

Easter eggs: figure prep-style is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

7 Responses to Easter eggs: figure prep-style

  1. Juliet says:

    LOL!! I loved this post because I relate so well ANDDD my friend recently told me she bought brown eggs to dye for easter hahaha

    I hardboiled eggs to dye…and then ate them. WHOOPS. Competition prep friendly recipe: take out the yolk of the hard-boiled egg and put hummus in the hole. It’s very tastey.

    PS. I have had to diet and abstain completely through christmas, new years, valentines day, st. patricks day, and easter without any candy or drinking or food.

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Oof that’s harsh! Thankfully my coach didn’t have me on any particular food plan over Christmas and New Year (I was still building then) but I’ll be between shows on my birthday this year, for my best friend’s wedding and for her hen (bachelorette). Awesome! ;D I honestly don’t mind, I don’t miss drinking at all (unless they suddenly ban it, wine will always be there, right?!) and I like getting creative with food and menus when eating out. I think other people have more of a problem with it than we do, sometimes. But if we don’t make a big deal out of it, and it doesn’t impact on anyone else’s day, what’s the prob? πŸ™‚

      PS I hardboil eggs for my husband’s packed lunches sometimes and draw smiley faces on them ha ha πŸ˜€
      PPS Just to clarify – you didn’t go without “food” during those times (I know this, but don’t want anyone to be alarmed!) You meant without traditional foods of those celebrations/holidays.

      Like

      • Juliet says:

        OH! No, I have never gone w/o food at all. I just ate what I eat every other day of the week. I celebrated – bit not WITH food. Make sense?

        And do you still eat out at restaurants? The only meals I’ve eaten that I haven’t prepared since i began prep was right after the first show… only 2 weeks left though! CRAZY!

        Like

      • thefitwriter says:

        Yes I do, I find there’s always something I can have which will fit my macros and most places will do small modifications (like “sauce in a little pot on the side so I can add it myself please” or whatever). Avoid the bread basket (and wine…and chocolate or little biscuit which comes with coffee…) and all can be well πŸ˜‰ I refuse to let a hobby alter my social life to a huge extent (although most sports goals do to a degree and that’s fine to me), and my work means I have to eat out at least once a week, too.

        Like

  2. I love poached eggs!! πŸ™‚

    I’m bulking right now but still keeping the diet tight and clean to try to avoid as much fat gain as possible — so no cadbury creme eggs for me. TBH when I’m on the rag (what you didn’t want to know?) that stuff makes me super sick anyway so I have no desire for them.

    We….did not celebrate Easter this year. I know, bums. What can I say? I am LAZY.

    Like

Please leave a reply

