Bodybuilding teaches me to be… organised

Bodybuilding prep has taught me a lot of things so far. Goal setting. Focus. Determination. Consistency. Compliance. The fact that A+B will = C.

It has also taught me that, to be successful, you need to plan and prepare. Organisation is key, as evidenced by this:

The bag on the left? My clothes, laptop, toiletries, PJs, paperwork etc. The white bag on the right? My food.

I’m at FEB (the annual Fitness Entrepreneur Bootcamp event) this weekend. I’m here today, tomorrow and Sunday. And, whilst it’s a fitness event, so big bottles of water and bags of veggies are de rigeur, I decided to prep all my food for the weekend and bring it with me. At 6 weeks out from my comp, I am in the mood for complete and utter compliance. If I can’t test my organisational skills and willpower now, when can I? (Er…apart from over the coming weeks 😉 )


So, here we have:
– chopped veg (cauliflower, broccoli, pepper, courgette, cucumber and lettuce, spinach, asparagus, cherry tomatoes – fridge needed clearing out!)
– 4 homemade breakfast protein pancakes
– a homemade apple-y protein cake
– 12 homemade egg ‘muffins’ (not sure what else to call them)
– grilled chicken
– hard boiled eggs
– some pre-cooked chicken
– 4 non-dairy yoghurts (I got sent them for review – will blog it soon)
– some casein powder for a late-night puddingy snack

All mixed, chopped, baked, prepared and pre-frozen by me yesterday. And, yes, I did work yesterday! (And train. Twice.)

I do think it’s hilarious that my food bag is almost the same size as my weekend bag. But you know what’s nice? The fact that no-one here thinks it’s weird (or, if they do, they haven’t said so!), they all understand, and even my roomie (the lovely Zita of Z-Trainer fame) completely understands why I’m eating all my meals out of a cool bag.

I feel quite accomplished having made that lot to bring with me, and know it will all bring me that little bit closer to my goal.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I am off to the evening seminar here at FEB for a roundtable with Jon le Tocq, Paul Mort, Alwyn Cosgrove, Rachel Cosgrove, Steve Jack, Nick Nanton and Charlotte Ord.

I’ll blog about the talks here at FEB – we’ve already heard some great advice and inspiring presentations.

Bodybuilding teaches me to be… organised is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

6 Responses to Bodybuilding teaches me to be… organised

  1. […] this article: Bodybuilding teaches me to be… organised « The fitness industry's … This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged entry, friday, nicola-joyce, […]

    Like

  2. Pinky says:

    What is an egg muffin? I know it will bear no relation to an egg Mcmuffin!

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      They’re things I make myself, I guess they could be described as crustless quiches. I sautée some veg and spices, mix egg whites, tuna and chopped spinach, add goat’s whey powder and a pinch of baking soda and bake the mixture in a muffin tin. Yummy and very portable!

      Like

  3. […] Just like when I went to that conference a few weeks ago, I spent an hour or so the evening before the hen do preparing food. Nothing fancy, […]

    Like

  4. […] brings us a lot of lessons. Exercise, working out, training: whatever you call it, if you’ve done it even once, I […]

    Like

  5. […] (two years ago now!) when I went to FEB during prep? And roomied with a cool chick? Well that was […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

