HIIT with my dog (video) and progress pic

Hi guys!

So yesterday I had HIIT (high intensity interval training) as my second training session of the day. At just 18 days out from my comp, I consider it a small victory if I do intervals, let alone high intensity ones, but nevertheless I thought you might like a peak at one of the many options I use.

If I can’t be bothered to go to the gym (particularly if I’ve already been that day) and feel kettlebells won’t cut it, I’ll take my dog, head over to the local playing field and sprint the long sides of the pitch, then walk or jog to recover on the short ends.

Here’s a video (sorry they’re sideways on, I don’t have time to work out how to rotate)

And then some ideas for extras:

Here are the links direct to youtube if you fancy
here and here.

The cost of this session? Free ninety-nine! Β£0.00. Nada. No excuses! Thanks to my husband for the idea and for videoing!

And, because I’m feeling brave, here’s a progress pic at 18 days out. Please excuse the bruise, I think it’s from the bar when deadlifting.

What do you do for intervals? Do you have any great ideas for free workouts which don’t need equipment?

HIIT with my dog (video) and progress pic is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

10 Responses to HIIT with my dog (video) and progress pic

  1. Juliet says:

    It’s so funny you posted this because I literally started writing an entry last night about Morgan (decided not to post it). It was all about how she loves to do HIIT with me! I don’t have any vids but I wrote about how we like to race one another – sometimes I’ll throw the ball in the opposite direction to give myself a cheating head start.

    They have 2 extra legs on us after all.

    You look very put together in your videos despite being past your wall. I think a lot of it is mental. It took a helluva lot of caffeine (probably truck-loads) to get me to the gym at 5 AM, then work 8:30-5, and then lift for an hour + after all that, at the end of the day.

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Ha yes I have beaten Frankie *once* and I got so excited I was shouting “I beat you! I beat you! yahahahaaaa!” and jumping around… then I realised this old couple were watching :-/

      Yes lots is mental – I perked up when my husband said he’d come with me to video – but it’s definitely physical too at this stage!

      PS I ❀ caffeine πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. Crystal says:

    Looking great! Hammies standing out nicely, you are going to do well.

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Thank you! Someone else mentioned my hamstrings (on facebook) – I can’t really see them on myself. I had a panic a few weeks ago that they weren’t really there and have been killing them ever since so I guess it worked! Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Oh my gosh — you look AMAZING!!!! WOW. You are gonna kill it πŸ˜€

    Couldn’t play the videos (laptop acting up) but I am also impressed you’re doing HIIT less than 3 weeks out!

    Like

  4. april says:

    Looking wonderful!! Still jealous of those delts!

    If I do HIIT I like to do it plyo style at home..it kills!!

    Like

  5. allimckee says:

    Looking fantastic girl! Beautiful hammie and glute lines! Good luck in the comp and HAVE FUN!!!

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Wow, praise indeed! Thanks Alli I really appreciate it. And that’s comment #3 about the hammies now so I guess I have to accept they are there! πŸ˜‰ I will have fun, I have a great support crew coming with me and I can’t wait! πŸ˜€

      Like

Please leave a reply

