Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: “Body By Design”, GliSODin Elite, Wot No Dairy?, Herbalife Formula 1

This is long overdue – a round-up of the latest “fitness kit I’ve tested this week” post for you. Enjoy!


Body by Design by Kris Gethin

I was sent this book after the PR people saw my post about meeting Jamie Eason at the Grand Prix expo. Body By Design was written by Kris Gethin, bodybuilding.com‘s Editor in Chief. Although bodybuilding.com is a USA site, Kris is one of us – he hails from Wales originally, although he’s lived in LA for a long time now.

OK so the book. It’s a kind of back-to-basics approach to body recomposition, losing fat, building muscle, eating and training. It’s aimed at people who want to train with weights, rather than – say – runners or other sport-specific bods. It’s peppered throughout with inspiring case studies of Bodyspace members, along with before and after photos.

It didn’t tell me anything I didn’t already know, but it was an easy, fun read and would be a great resource for anyone starting out with healthy eating, lifting weights or wanting to lose body fat and/or build muscle (on whatever level). Kris’s writing style is friendly, warm and humourous and he obviously knows his stuff. The book walks you through nutrition, meal ideas, training and the science behind it all, and even gives you a 12-week programme. I’d recommend it to anyone interested in the whole gym/weights/body transformation thing.


Glisodin Elite antioxidant

I was sent these Glisodin Elite capsules a while ago, but this morning I finished them so I thought it’s time to review them. (You can get them from here). Glisodin Elite is an antioxidant, aimed partly at sportspeople putting their bodies under a lot of stress. Here’s the blurb:

GliSODin Elite is the most powerful antioxidant and an anti-ageing catalyst providing the first line of defence against premature ageing of the skin and the whole body. GliSODin Elite provides the full strength bio-active form of Super Oxide Dismutase for rapid absorption and utilisation by the body.

GliSODin Elite is the first orally effective vegetarian form of Superoxide Dismutase (SOD) that takes an entirely different approach at fighting oxidative damage. GliSODin Elite has a catalytic effect that primes the body’s own internal antioxidant system by promoting the internal production of the most powerful primary antioxidants at the cellular level – SOD, Catalase and Glutathione Peroxidase.

Some of the benefits promised by this supplement are supporting healthy immune function and aiding recovery after strenuous exercise, both of which appealed to me.

Here’s the thing, reviewing supplements is difficult. How can I tell whether or not they worked? I can’t. What I can say is that, over the past month I’ve been training incredibly hard, bringing my calories down for my bodybuilding comp and generally being pretty stressed what with being self-employed, running a household and all those real-life things. I haven’t been ill at all: not a sniffle, niggle or cough. (*touch wood*!) Whether this is to do with the Glisodin Elite or not I couldn’t tell you – I also eat tons of vegetables and take multivitamins. But I have been very healthy throughout my contest prep and perhaps the Glisodin Elite helped.

It’s very easy to take: just a small, flavourless capsule.


Wot No Dairy? desserts

I had to drop dairy from my diet a few weeks ago (*sob*!) so imagine my delight when I was sent a sample of each flavour of Redwood Foods‘s Wot No Dairy? desserts. Redwood is a vegan food company and the protein in WND? is from pea protein (my absolute new favourite – more on that in a later post!)

Now, don’t go expecting these to taste like yoghurt. Or dessert, really. I didn’t have them for dessert, I had them with oatmeal pancakes for breakfasts, and I blended the cherry one up into a smoothie (yum). They don’t taste bad, but they don’t taste like dairy (…obviously). So, adjust your tastebuds and your expectations – and enjoy! I really loved these and will be buying more. WND is available in plain, raspberry, black cherry (my favourite) and peach and apricot. You can buy online, at Holland and Barrett and my local health food shop carries them so I imagine yours does, too.

As an aside, lots of my vegan friends rave about Redwoods’s other products – I’ve not tried them but if you’re looking to cut dairy for whatever reason, it sounds like you should check their stuff out!

Herbalife Formula 1

Herbalife Formula 1 is a protein powder and I was sent the vanilla flavour to try (there are six, including the rather delish-sounding “crunchy cookies and cream”). I actually used it in one of my protein baking experiments – I blended it up with sweet potato and baked it like a cake. It was very very yum – in fact the flavour reminded me of something but I can’t think what (how’s that for useful?)

Here’s the blurb:

Formulated with an excellent balance of macro and micro nutrients, Formula 1 has been scientifically proven to be an effective way to control and manage weight when combined with a healthy active lifestyle.

• Contains a balanced combination of soy protein and plant based carbohydrates that can help you feel fuller for longer and sustain your energy levels

• The inclusion of at least 25 grams of soy protein a day as part of a diet low in saturated fat can help you maintain healthy blood cholesterol levels.

• Contains soy protein which can help build and maintain lean muscle mass as part of a fitness programme.

• Contains high levels of essential vitamins and minerals to help you reach your Recommended Daily Allowance.

Be aware that the macros in Herbalife Formula 1 aren’t going to suit you if you’re on a cut: the sachet I was sent (one serving) had 9g carbs (as well as 9g protein, 2.3g fat). So not great if you’re looking for a low-carb protein powder but a great choice if you’re looking for more of a meal-replacement (which is what it’s designed to be) or are trying to keep your carbs down. Or do what I did and have it after training! I really liked the taste (let’s face it, that’s got to be a consideration when testing protein powder), mixability and I like the fact it’s got vitamins and minerals in, too.

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: “Body By Design”, GliSODin Elite, Wot No Dairy?, Herbalife Formula 1 is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

5 Responses to Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: “Body By Design”, GliSODin Elite, Wot No Dairy?, Herbalife Formula 1

  1. Juliet says:

    I’ve always felt the same way about supplements during prep. Did I get lean? Yes, very. Was it the supplements? I don’t know. Could have been them, could have been them in conjunction with everything else. Perhaps they did harm and I could have been better w/o…. who knows. BUT I’ll prob still take ’em again next prep.

    Like

  2. That wot no dairy stuff has me intrigued! But I feel like it’s not available over here :/

    I LOVE pea protein 🙂 It’s the best in terms of digestability (for me) and it tastes so well — and using it for baking is such a breeze!

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      You’d probably love the WND then! It’s really really nice, creamy and tasty. What a shame you can’t get it over there. I’d ship some but I’m not sure it would be too good by the time it reached you 😉

      Like

  3. herbalife says:

    herbalife…

    […]Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: “Body By Design”, GliSODin Elite, Wot No Dairy?, Herbalife Formula 1 « The fitness industry's copywriter[…]…

    Like

Please leave a reply

