2011 XT Memorial Mile round-up

Thank you all so much for your sweet and positive responses to this year’s XT Memorial Mile even though I sprung it on you a little late!

Have you checked in and told me how you got on? If not, please do.

Here’s a round-up of XT Memorial Miles I’m aware of (the Mile went global!)

Allie of Allie in Wonderland ran three miles with her Mum (they’re training for Race For Life) and dedicated one of them to XT (and perhaps the other two to her dearly-departed Basil?)
Anna of Up ‘anley Duck walked three miles with her two dogs and dedicated one to XT (and maybe the other two to gone-but-not-forgotten Ruddles).
Jenny of Cover Girl says she’ll run a mile today, even though she’s only just started running AND yesterday was her birthday (happy birthday!)
Richard of Richard’s TransRockies took part in the Chilterns Classic mountain bike event, and rode the first mile for XT (he knew him very well indeed).
Nat of Modal Corpus did a mile for XT on the X-Trainer (clever… clever!) at the gym.
Sable from Squat Like a Lady walked two miles and dedicated one of them to XT.
Kristen from Following Fit ran a mile at track after her gym session.

And non-bloggers took part, too. 🙂

My sister walked a mile with my big ol’ baby nephew in his pram (good going Sista!)
My husband did the same mountain bike event as Richard – the Chilterns Classic (75kms) – and dedicated the first mile to XT.
– My friend Jo and her dog Buddy run-walked on Saturday in memory of XT (they both knew him well).
– My friend Sally and her dog Mws (who looks a bit like XT) went for a walk (which I suspect was a lot longer than a mile!)
– My friend Morag and her dogs Cuán and Xena, along with Jet and Tiggy walked two miles in the pouring rain (I know how rainy it was cos she lives close by).
– My friend Lisa walked at the weekend and dedicated a mile to XT and other furry friends.
– My friend Lan got in on the action early, and did her XT Mile on Friday by walking home rather than getting the DLR (American readers: a bit of London’s public transport) and had a think about XT, dogs in general, and her miniature dachshund Mabel. As she told me, “I remembered the gorgeous pictures of XT and his ears and how well behaved he was at your birthday picnic. I remembered my disbelief at the pictures of him not eating everything!” (He was incredibly well-behaved! And did have incredibly huge ears…)
– My friend Kelly walked a lot on Saturday, including Southport Pier – which is a mile long.
– My friend Gaynor went on a long walk with a friend and the friend’s dog, perfect for remembering XT.

Me? Well, my initial plan was to go to track, where I ran the 2009 and 2010 XT Memorial Miles by myself. But it was absolutely lashing with rain here all day, and my husband had the car, so I would have had to ride my bike there and back. I decided to do the XT Mile in a way that would fit with my current training plans.

My second training session of the day was “steady state, medium”, one option for which is the cardio machines at the gym. So, I rowed a mile, walked a mile on the treadmill on a steep incline and then biked (much more than a mile!) Of course, I also walked theFitDog yesterday (we do about three miles).

Thank you all so very much. I’m really touched that you all took the time to walk, run, jog, amble, cross-train, bike or push a pram whilst thinking about XT. 😀

2011 XT Memorial Mile round-up is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

5 Responses to 2011 XT Memorial Mile round-up

  1. Allie says:

    Yay, well done everyone! Here’s how my Memorial Mile went (I ran up a MASSIVE hill!)

    http://allieinlondonland.blogspot.com/2011/07/xt-memorial-mile.html

    Like

  2. Pinky says:

    I ran it today Nic, sorry – better late than never. xxx

    Like

Please leave a reply

