Vote for your favourite sport supplement (10% online discount)

Do you take supplements and use sports nutrition? What are your trusted favourites?

Vote in the 7th annual Bodybuilding.com Supplement Awards and get 10% off online orders (applicable to the UK, too).

There are over 70 brand nominees to choose from. In the 2010 awards, over 315,000 votes were cast from all over the world. Winners will be announced live at the 2011 Mr. Olympia on Friday, September 16th in Las Vegas, Nevada.

This year’s categories are:

Brand of the Year
Supplement of the Year
Breakout Brand (most improved) of the Year
New Supplement of the Year
New Brand of the Year
Muscle Building Supplement of the Year
Pre-Workout Supplement of the Year
Intra-Workout Supplement of the Year
Recovery Supplement of the Year
Protein Powder of the Year
Protein Bar of the Year
Energy Supplement of the Year
Energy Drink of the Year
Fat Loss Supplement of the Year
Weight Gainer Supplement of the Year
Creatine Supplement of the Year
Glutamine Supplement of the Year
BCAA Supplement of the Year
Multivitamin Supplement of the Year
Joint Health Supplement of the Year
RTD (Ready-To-Drink) of the Year
Tanning Product of the Year
Packaging of the Year

I’ll have to get my thinking cap on! I do have some firm favourites in some categories but, in others, I chop and change depending on what samples I’ve been given to try, what’s on offer, what has free delivery and…er…what comes in chocolate/peanut butter flavour! 😉

Cast your vote now and receive 10% off your next purchase at Bodybuilding.com!

What UK readers need to know

The online discount is valid for the UK, although shipping rates will vary depending on your order (and any order over 18lbs will get charged a VAT). Shipping options for most orders would be via DHL Global Mail (8-20 days to customs, delivered by local post), or UPS – much quicker at around 7 days, although more expensive.

Whilst you’re there, have a look around Bodybuilding.com, I think it’s a great resource. I lurk on the forums and read loads of the articles. Apparently the site offers a staggering 35,000+ pages of (free) information, including more than 20,000 articles and videos. There’s new content daily covering nutrition, competitions, training, supplementation, the psychological side of training and competing – and tons more. If you’re into bodybuilding, strength and conditioning, gym work or nutrition at any level, it’s a top-notch site and one you really should take a look around.

With that, I’m off to mix up my BCAAs, creatine and l-glutamine and hit the gym for a chest session! What are you supplementing with today, and why?

Vote for your favourite sport supplement (10% online discount) is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

2 Responses to Vote for your favourite sport supplement (10% online discount)

  1. Tom says:

    Nicola

    Out of interest, what is your favourite pre workout and post workout supplement? I’m a big fan of the Optimum Nutrition Casein before bed and I like to use a caffine free pre workout formula such as Reflex Performance Matrix.

    Also, have you heard of a protein supplement called Carnivor by Muscle Meds? Very intriguing concept – Bioengineered Beef Protein Isolate, which is 350% more concentrated than steak. Seems to get good reviews.

    Tom
    TC Workouts

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Hello there. Well, I don’t tend to use pre-WOs, particularly whilst in prep as a) I’d rather save the macros for “real” food and b) I try to get away from artificial sweeteners as they play havoc with my guts 😉 There’s a c), too – I adore a good espresso and find that an espresso just before the gym, then my l-glut and BCAAs whilst there (in my water) is fine for me. 😀

      Post-WO, again I try to get “real” food in as soon as possible. I’ll have more l-glut one way or another and if for some reason I can’t eat within 30 mins or so I’ll have some more BCAAs.

      All that said, I think my favourite preWO is Sci-MX’s Xplode http://www.sci-mx.co.uk/shop-by-goal/performance-power/x-plode-hardcore/ – it tastes good and gives me a real boost without any horrid jitters (and I’ve tried some that have been wayyy too strong and jitter-inducing, believe me!) I haven’t used it – or any pre WO – for ages though.

      Yes i like any casein before bed (with cottage cheese when not deep in contest prep!) I’ve used myprotein’s http://www.myprotein.com/uk/products/milk_protein_smooth which is fine and I love ON’s http://www.onacademy.co.uk/catalogue/products/gold-standard-100-casein for a treat – it’s so thick and creamy, it’s like a luxury pudding!

      Not heard of the beef isolate… does it taste of beef?! I’m willing to try anything once but must admit I haven’t tried an actual meaty protein powder…. unflavoured or pea/hemp is about as daring as I’ve got!

      Like

Please leave a reply

