Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: myprotein ZMA, “Vegan Bodybuilding & Fitness” by Robert Cheeke, wheyshake whey

I’m building up quite a backlog of kit, supplements, pills and potions to review, so here goes: my round-up of the latest “fitness kit I’ve tested this week” post for you. Enjoy!

myprotein.com ZMA

If there’s one thing I struggle with, it’s sleeping. Or rather, waking up really early and not being able to get back to sleep. I don’t have to have anything on my mind, or be anxious or under stress (no more more stress than bodybuilding prep places you under, that is…) I just… don’t sleep well. So it was with gratitude that I accepted some ZMA tablets from my friends at myprotein.com.

ZMA is zinc, magnesium and vitamin B6 and is said to help recovery from hard training. Zinc is important for tissue repair and growth, and magnesium is important for energy production and neuro-muscular function. When you’re training really hard, you have a greater need for both minerals, and lack of them has been linked to poor sleep. And, of course, poor sleep leads to lack of recovery… and round and round we go.

ZMA is a completely natural supplement, popular with bodybuilders and other athletes to help with sleep and recovery.

So, did it work? YES. I have definitely been sleeping better since taking the ZMAs every evening. As ever, you could say it’s placebo effect or down to some other variable. All I can say is that, after taking the ZMA tablets for about four (?) days, I was sleeping better, more deeply, not waking in the night or – if I did wake – actually going back to sleep again and sleeping through til the alarm goes off. This, for me, is pretty much a miracle. So, for me, ZMA gets two thumbs up. myprotein.com, thank you very much for the sample.

By the way, if you’d like to order anything at all from myprotein.com (and I can highly recommend them), pop the code MP113064 in at the checkout to get a discount. šŸ˜‰

“Vegan Bodybuilding and Fitness” (book) by Robert Cheeke

I’ve been a bit of a fan of vegan bodybuilder Robert Cheeke for a while now, before I set my sights on doing my own competition. I read an interview with him on another blog (long since forgotten) and was struck by how passionate, genuine and… nice he seemed. So, when he asked on Twitter if I’d read and review his book “Vegan Bodybuilding and Fitness”, I was happy to.

Now, I’m not vegan. Far from it (sorry, Robert). I eat meat, fish and animal products. However, many of my personal principles are aligned with those Robert promotes, and I certainly don’t think you need to be vegan to get a lot out of this book.

The first thing which struck me as I read the book was, again, what a thoroughly nice chap Robert seems to be. His character leaps out of every page and he is clearly completely dedicated to promoting veganism, bodybuilding, health, fitness, authenticity and kindness. He’s poured his heart and soul into this book and the result is a bible for anyone interested in vegan fitness. Having said that, I think there’s a great amount anyone could take from this book.

It’s not just training and nutrition which Robert writes about (although he gives an awful lot of info about those two topics, including training plans, meal plans and recommended places to shop and eat). He also writes about how to go about becoming a sponsored athlete, how to make money from your hobby or bodybuilding and how to make ethical choices when shopping, eating and consuming.

In short, I loved this book even though I’m not a vegan. I am extremely interested in nutrition, supplementation, cooking, training, and that seemed to be enough to make this book relevant to me.

If you’re a vegan who’s into any kind of fitness, I’d say this book is a must. If you’re into fitness or bodybuilding and interested in alternative lifestyles, I’d say it’s highly recommended.

Oh, and I would like to be Robert’s new BFF. He seems so… nice! šŸ˜€

PS Also check out Veganbodybuilding.com which is an amazing resource, full of useful articles, a forum and Robert’s blog. Robert Tweets here and is on Facebook here.

Wheyshake whey protein

Last but not least, I was sent two samples of wheyshake whey protein powder this week: chocolate cookie crumble and vanilla slice.

wheyshake is a relatively new UK supplement company dedicated to bringing us good value, great quality and great tasting products. They don’t just do whey – have a look at their site for the rest of their small but quality range – but the instant whey is what I tested.

Here are the stats: per 30g serving, you get 24g protein, 1.6g carbs and 1.5g fat (and 117 cals). The product contains pure whey protein concentrate, pure whey isolate and hydrolysed whey protein. It’s sweetened with sucralose, and you can certainly tell. This stuff is sweet! Not that sweetness is necessarily a bad thing, and if you like your shakes sweet then definitely try wheyshake. Just be aware that it is one of the sweeter whey powders I’ve tasted.

The chocolate cookie crumble, oddly, wasn’t as sweet as the vanilla. I had it just as a plain, quite thick, shake, and it reminded me of a nice hot (cold?) chocolate. Very moreish! I’d order this one again.

The vanilla slice flavour was a bit too sweet for me, if I’m honest. I like vanilla whey because it’s so versatile and can be used with other flavours, or for baking, or even with savoury ingredients like sweet potato (try it!) I think this vanilla flavour would be too strong and sweet for that. It was reminiscent of a pudding, like… a vanilla slice. So, in that sense, the wheyshake guys have the flavour spot-on! I just don’t want vanilla slice from a vanilla whey. I want plain vanilla.

At Ā£29.99 for 2.25kg, this is a good price for whey protein so, if you like your whey sweet or only want protein powder for straight-up shakes, give it a go. Thanks for the samples, wheyshake people!

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: myprotein ZMA, “Vegan Bodybuilding & Fitness” by Robert Cheeke, wheyshake whey is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

3 Responses to Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: myprotein ZMA, “Vegan Bodybuilding & Fitness” by Robert Cheeke, wheyshake whey

  1. Ooooh thanks for the review of Robert Cheeke’s book! I am a vegetarian and would love to go vegan, but for the question of money šŸ˜¦ — I’ve been wondering if it’s a sound investment *now* while veganism is still out of reach for me — I think I’ll go order a copy based on what you said though!! šŸ˜€

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      I thought it was great, really. I’m sure there are several useful or inspiring things anyone could take from it, vegan, vegetarian or omni! Definitely pick up a copy. It’s not a huge tome, either, for all that it’s so comprehensive. He’s managed to pack a whole load of great information into a very reasonably-sized book. Hope you enjoy! šŸ˜€

      Like

  2. Gazza says:

    I’m 215 lbs consuming 50g of plant protein and still gaining maintaining lean muscle mass….so do we as humans really need meat, when there are so many related health problems that come with it. i.e animal fat solid at 37 degrees C, hypercalciuria etc etc…not to mention the blood type diet that has never been double blind trialed to this day (not worth the cost of paper it has ever been written on).

    Like

Please leave a reply

