Pumping iron with Maggie Philbin

(Edited – you can now listen to the interviews via this link) I’m at 00:27:01, 00:47:11, 01:14:35, 02:18:07 (<— with added thefitdog-barking sounds!) and 02:44:00 (<–featuring the word "she-hulk"!)

Did you grow up in the 1980s? If you did, chances are you remember watching “Tomorrow’s World” with a curious mixture of fascination and fear (or maybe that was just me), and kind of loving presenter Maggie Philbin.

Well, today I got to pump iron with Maggie Philbin. Isn’t life strange? I just go with it.

After my bodybuilding comp, I sent a press release out to local papers. The Wokingham Times ran the story, and a researcher at our local BBC radio station picked up on it. During the breakfast show, there are six slots (two every hour) during which time the studio talks to their roving reporter (Maggie) to see which local freak weirdo interesting individual she’s with that day. Today, Maggie’s “interesting individual” was me. 😉

I hope I was interesting! It’s a bit hard to tell whether or not you’re answering questions lucidly at 7am particularly when it’s a live broadcast.

Regardless of how the interviews turned out, I had a great time. Maggie, soundman Adam (probably not his official title but he was the techy dude who did all the audio and signal stuff) and I started off at the gym, where we ran through some of my back session (I had Maggie doing pull ups and bent-over rows).

Then we came back to my house where we chatted nutrition, tanning and routines. I even showed her a lat-spread pose and her reaction was classic! “You just seem to….grow!” she said – which is exactly the reaction we want, of course!

If I can find a way to link to the interviews, I will. Did you listen in and hear any of them? What did you think?

Pumping iron with Maggie Philbin is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

3 Responses to Pumping iron with Maggie Philbin

  1. It’s good to see some positive publicity for personal trainers and fitness experts alike.

    Like

  2. Kat Millar says:

    I loved the interview Nic, you were really great to listen to! Maggie is awesome! And you were very natural and relaxed. Because I know you, I read between the lines a bit and imagined you were thinking “I don’t care what you think Mr Radio guy, you don’t get it” haha… but you were very calm in your responses and not defensive, which is very hard for people to react negatively to!
    We need more people like you telling people about this very worthwhile sport – not to defend it madly and try and prove anything, but simple inform people that it’s very normal and anyone can do it if they want to! Nice work!

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Thanks Kat! Actually I couldn’t hear the man in the studio, only what Maggie asked me, so I was really responding just to her 🙂 I only heard his bits when I listened to the link. Yep, that’s exactly what I want to do – promote women’s BB/women working with weights whilst getting rid of any of the stereotypes and misinformation. x

      Like

Please leave a reply

