Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: myprotein Zest whey isolate, Optimum Nutrition gold standard casein and gold standard whey

I’m on a roll with my product reviews this week! It won’t be too long before I cut protein powders out of my diet as we get closer to the BNBF Finals, so I’m making my way through my stash of samples to bring you the latest in my “fitness kit I’ve tested this week” posts. This one’s for those of you who use protein powders (whey and casein).

Myprotein.com Whey Isolate “Zest”

myprotein.com have recently launched a new whey isolate in fruity flavours (they’ve also launched some absolutely amazing coffee-inspired whey proteins, but that’s not what I’m here to talk about today). What’s different about their Whey Isolate Zest? It contains 100% whey protein isolate and over 85% protein content. The stats are pretty impressive – for each 25g serving, you’re getting 21.4g protein, 0.2g fat and just 0.1g carbs (and 85.6 kcals). To me, that means you can just have a bigger serving 😉

So, it’s a good choice for anyone watching carbs or cutting for a show/shoot. Good stuff. But really it’s the flavours which make this new product something to blog home about. Almost every other whey protein out there is some kind of chocolate, vanilla, banana, blah blah flavour. That’s all well and good but it does get a bit boring after a while. If, like me, you like to experiment with protein powders, using them for “icecream” and in baking, new flavours such as these are exciting!

Whey Isolate Zest is available in blackcurrant, apple & raspberry and orange & passionfruit. And they’re all really, really good. Mixed with water (or non-dairy milk) as I tried, they make a much fresher-tasting shake than the more traditional milky-flavours on the market. They’re very refreshing. I imagine they’d be great mixed in with yoghurt – frozen yoghurt maybe? The flavours all seem very authentic – I had orange & passionfruit this morning and it was a very thirst-quenching, refreshing start to the day.

Highly recommended if you’re tired of the same old whey protein flavours and fancy something fruity and different! Thanks for the samples, myprotein.com. By the way, if you do order from myprotein.com, pop the code MP113064 in at the checkout for a discount.

(I did consider doing something more exciting than straight-up shakes when I tested this product, but thought this would be the best way. However, head on over to my homegirl Anna’s blog if you want some crazy ideas for using this – and other – protein powders). She’s on Facebook, too.

Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Whey

Optimum Nutrition (ON) are a highly-thought of brand so I was pleased to be sent samples of their popular whey and casein products. I tested the gold standard whey in French vanilla (presumably different to English?) although it’s available in 12 flavours (rocky road, anyone?)

The stats are good: per 29.4g serving (I don’t make the serving sizes up!), you’re getting 24g protein, 1g fat and 1.6g carbs (120 kcals). I wasn’t overwhelmed by the vanilla flavour but vanilla is vanilla really. It was nice, not too strong and not too sweet which is often the case with vanilla wheys.

ON’s gold standard whey contains more than 5g of BCAAs and 4g glutamine per serving, nice extras which will help you recover from hard training and be less sore during your workouts. It’s discounted on the ON site at the moment, making this a great time to snap up what is generally considered to be a quality product, respected by many top athletes.

Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Casein

I was also sent a sample of ON’s gold standard casein product, which I’d been wanting to try for ages after hearing all sorts of people sing its praises. Casein is a slow-release protein source, ideal to take before bed (and I usually do). It digests at a rate of around 1/7 that of whey, so can supply you with amino acids during long periods without food.

I loved this product. It was delicious, and I’d definitely buy it again. I can see why I’ve heard so many good things about it. The flavour I tested was chocolate, but it’s also available in vanilla or banana. It was really smooth and creamy and tasted like a lovely treat last thing at night.

Per 32g serving, you get 24.4g protein, 0.5g fat and 3g carbs, along with 114 kcals and 10g of BCAAs, glutamine, and glutamine precursors, making this a quality product to take before going to sleep. I just wish they’d sent me more!

As with the whey, the casein is discounted on ON’s site at the moment. I might be heading over there to place an order myself! Thanks for the samples, Optimum Nutrition people!

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: myprotein Zest whey isolate, Optimum Nutrition gold standard casein and gold standard whey is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

4 Responses to Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: myprotein Zest whey isolate, Optimum Nutrition gold standard casein and gold standard whey

  1. april says:

    Ooo I like the sound of that first protein! For some reason I do not like any of ON’s proteins.. and yet everyone else loves it! Beats me!

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      How about the casein, have you tried that? Actually I seem to remember you don’t much like casein at all? Yes the MP Zest is lovely, but I don’t think you get it over there (for once, something we have that you don’t…!) ;D

      Like

  2. Nice, i’ve been interested in the zest stuff – good to hear an honest review. I’ve been a bit concerned about MPs quality control recently but this has been encouraging.

    Like

  3. […] and now are the Gold Standard Casein (yum!) and Whey – which I’ve already reviewed (here). What you’ll be getting will be my reviews of their bars, which look delish, but which I […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

