A walking experiment (StepSuccess review)

I was recently asked to review an activity-tracking device called StepSuccess. Since I do a lot of walking – both because I’ve got a dog, and because it’s great low-level cardio and suits my contest prep – I said yes. Then I thought… I can go one better than that. I’ll test it over a period of time and do a blog series about it.

My husband’s away at the moment, which means I’m doing all the dog walking (two or three walks a day – and we don’t dawdle!) For that reason, coach Kat agreed that, for this period of time, powerwalking with the dog should be my only low-level/steady state cardio.

I’m not sure what the experiment is exactly (look, I’m only married to a scientist, I’m not remotely scientific myself). Basically I’m going to use the device for all my daily walks, update here with the stats and feedback (probably not daily, maybe a round-up every few days) and then let you know how it went once the walking experiment is over. I guess what I really want to know is:

how far do I cover when walking an enthusiastic pup twice or even three times in a day?
what impact does this have on my fitness, energy output, weight loss?
how many steps do I take just walking to and from the gym and around my house?
– is there a level of steppage (<— possibly not a real word) I need to hit before I start seeing positive effects from walking?

I'll let you know how I get on. In fact I think I'll put all the relevant posts in a new category ("walking"?) In the meantime, if you're interested in learning more about the StepSuccess gadget, take a look here.

A walking experiment (StepSuccess review) is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

5 Responses to A walking experiment (StepSuccess review)

  1. Fifi says:

    Didn’t read all of website… So do u/does ‘it’ measure your stride at 1st? :-)xx

    Like

  2. […] this week’s update in my walking experiment! (The previous update is […]

    Like

  3. […] the latest update in my walking experiment! (The previous updates are here and here.) I’ve got two weeks to cover so let’s get on […]

    Like

  4. […] the latest update in my walking experiment! (The previous updates are here, here and […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

