Out of the mouths of babes

Today was my nephew’s first birthday. I know! Can you believe that, a year ago, I was blogging about running up a hill, new-Auntie style?

Happy Birthday, Penry! (<— not his real name…!)

If you haven't tried the Nephew Workout yet, where have you been?

One of my nephew’s cousins (on his Dad’s side of the family) is a rockin’ chick called Maggie. I believe Maggie is 6 1/2 but I could be wrong. I’m not too hot on things like kids’ ages. To be honest with you, I find it always goes down well when you ask them how old they are and say something outlandish like “19?” or “462?”

The first time I met Maggie, she was at a family party, eating thick slices of ham rolled up into cylinders. She knocked back about five of those slices in as many minutes. I was impressed by Maggie’s dedication to the cause of protein-consumption and we’ve been firm friends ever since.

Today, she kindly offered me some Iced Gems from the table of party food. I really liked the exchange which followed:

Maggie: “Would you like a couple?” (holds out palmful of Iced Gems)
TheFitWriter: “Not for me, thanks Mags!”
M: “Why not?!”
TFW: “I’m getting ready for a sport competition and I can’t eat sweets.”
M: “Oh, OK. So you can’t have the birthday cake?”
TFW: “That’s right.”
M: “Because birthday cake is sweets.”

M: “But..” (concerned look) “… are you hungry?”
TFW: “No, I brought a bag full of food I can eat.”
M: “Good idea! That’s OK then.”
–THE END–

No judgement, no sympathy, no attempts to entice me to just-one-little-nibble. Just simple questions, simple answers, and simple acceptance.

(Having said that, none of the adults judged me, over-sympathised with me or tried to get me to eat anything. It wasn’t that kind of party, and they’re not that kind of family. For which I am extremely grateful!)

I had my biosignature assessment this morning, and very interesting it was too. Ben is going to send me a screenshot, and a few words on the test and my results from his point of view. I’ll blog about it soon.

Out of the mouths of babes is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

One Response to Out of the mouths of babes

  1. […] notice a big drop in steppage yesterday – Saturday. That’s because I was at my nephew’s birthday party and some friend’s offered to walk the dog for me… bliss… huge thank you to Tim […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

