Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Made2Fit workout clothing, Optimum Nutrition essential amino energy

Hi all, welcome to the latest in my “fitness kit I’ve tested this week” series. Just the two this week: ON Essential Amino Energy and Made2Fit gym wear.

Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy

ON’s essential amino energy is their powdered BCAA (amino acid). I’d formerly been a big fan of a very well-known BCAA powdered drink (I’m sure you know which one I mean) but it’s expensive, addictive (not literally…well I dunno it does have Sucralose in it!) and I think it bloats me a bit. So I was more than happy to try ON’s BCAA powder instead.

I was sent a few sachets of the fruit fusion flavour (it also comes in orange and grape) and think it tastes a bit watermelon-y. It’s a nice taste, anyway, not too strong or sweet but enough of a taste to encourage you to drink up.

What about the benefits? Well, the whole point of supplementing with BCAAs (branched chain amino acids) is to help you recover – and stop breakdown of muscle tissue – during periods of intense training. They also help the release of human growth hormone which is obviously a good thing when you’re weight training. Some of the amino acids are considered ‘essential’ (you need to get them from diet or supplementation) and others are ‘non-essential’ – your body can produce them itself. The two types make up about 1/3 of muscle protein. BCAAs and creatine are considered the two supplements you should probably be taking if you’re doing heavy weight training.

Here’s ON’s blurb:

Everybody wants a lean muscular physique. Like anything worth having, wanting it isn’t enough. You have to commit to a rigorous diet and training program that will tax your strength mentally as well as physically. To help satisfy these demands, ON’s Essential Amino Energy combines an optimal ratio of rapidly absorbed free form amino acids- including muscle building BCAAs and arginine for more intense vascular pump – with natural energizers, beta Alanine, and N.O. boosting ingredients to help you reach your next level. And at just 10 calories per serving it makes a big impression without denting your diet. Mix up Essential Amino Energy by itself – or stack it with your favorite powdered supplements – anytime you want to dial up mental focus, physical energy, N.O. production and recovery support.

Per serving of ON’s essential amino energy, you get 5g of micronized free-form amino acids, beta-alanine and 100 mg of caffeine (from green tea) – just enough to give you a little kick, I’d say. I definitely felt gentle boost to get to the gym when I started sipping on this. No fat, no sugar (although it does have sucralose – bah!) and 10 calories per serving.

In summary I think I’d buy this again, although I am trying to wean myself off any supplement with artificial sweeteners, so I wish it didn’t contain sucralose. I did like this product though and felt it gave me a little boost before the gym and – like any BCAAs – helps me recover between training sessions.

Made2Fit sportswear

I was contacted by Made2Fit, a company who produce custom-made sport and gym wear. They kindly offered to send me a bespoke outfit – how exciting! I never care what I look like in the gym and now was the time to start. Goodness knows I spend enough time there.

The idea behind Made2Fit‘s kit is that you can choose between various cuts, lengths, neck styles, waistband styles and of course colours to select your own custom-made kit. There’s a massive choice.

I spent a good while on the website excitedly mocking up various colours and styles before settling on a racer back top with inbuilt bra support and the ‘sports’ shorts (style pictured above).

I love the kit! It’s a great fit, true to size, flattering and very comfortable. I’m definitely going to be putting a legit order in, and that’s saying something – usually I pick up whatever’s on offer or just wear the same gym kit for years (decades?) I can’t wait to put together my next outfit and choose the styles and colours!

Here are some pics of me in the kit so you can see it on a real person.



What you can’t see is just how comfortable and well-fitting the kit is. I can highly recommend it. It’s reasonably priced, too, for proper gym kit and technical fabric: £30 for the top (with inbuilt support) and £26 for the shorts. I’m particularly taken by the shorts and think they could easily be worn as non-gym shorts on sunny days (I’m laughing as I type that… it’s August and my gym is currently closed due to flooding…) The inbuilt support of the top is OK, not enough support for running or plyometrics but absolutely fine for low-impact cardio or yoga etc.

Visit the website and have a click around – design your own gym kit!

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Made2Fit workout clothing, Optimum Nutrition essential amino energy is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

3 Responses to Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Made2Fit workout clothing, Optimum Nutrition essential amino energy

  1. christina says:

    I just bought the ON amino energy so glad to read your review. PS: for some reason I just get a kick out of calling a running outfit for workout outfit a “kit.” Tee-hee.

    Like

  2. […] of those EAAs and the creatine. And, at the moment, you get free Amino Energy (which I reviewed here) when you order via the ON […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

