Leg training 28 days out

It’s now exactly 28 days until the BNBF British Final where I’ll be competing in the Miss Physique (bodybuilding) category alongside six other women.

This morning, I met up again with Ben who carried out my biosignature test last week (I blogged about it here). He kindly agreed to train me, since it was leg day and his facility is based at a Gold’s Gym, so there’s plenty of fantastic bits of kit there which I don’t usually have access to.

Last week, he took me through a session incorporating the trap bar, squat rack, hack squat and incline leg press. Ace!

This week, this is what he had in store:

6 sets proper (“ar$e to grass”) squats: 30kgs, 30kgs, 35kgs, 40kgs, 42.5kgs, 45kgs
3 sets of split squats holding 2x8kgs dumbbells
Glute/ham raises superset with hack squats (30kgs, 40kgs, 50kgs)

Then this horrid little finisher Ben had dreamed up:

20 deep body weight squats, as fast as possible
12 squat jumps
Hold the final squat jump at the bottom for 20 seconds

Immediately up and into the first of the 20 squats…

Do that all three times.

It only takes about 3 minutes and sound pretty easy. I can assure you it’s not (not after the leg session anyway!) I was yelling in pain and had to walk around the studio afterwards until the stars in front of my eyes went away.

We then did some ab work and I did a round of posing (I need to be doing this every day from now on if I can – and there’s no reason why I can’t!)

Thanks (I think?!) Ben! Great session!

After all that leg action, here are a couple of progress pics taken after I got home from the session above.


Yesterday was another good day in the world of contest prep. I attended the BNBF’s London “club”, a gathering of BNBF (or aspiring BNBF) athletes and some very kind BNBF Pros/judges/experience competitors. We met at Monster Gym (what a place!) and I made sure I got there with time to train beforehand (I wasn’t about to pass up that opportunity!)

At the club, there’s plenty of time to ask any questions and get hugely useful answers before we’re put through our paces. Then we pose and pose and pose again. Some of you might think posing is easy (it’s a bit of a misnomer really!) I can assure you it’s anything but. We were all running with sweat.

I was with the guys, as Physique posing is more in line with the posing the men do than the posing the Figure (female) competitors do. Some of the guys ended up standing in a pool of their own sweat. Posing is hard work; it’s like another training session. BNBF club is invaluable, a great opportunity to really practice posing seriously and work hard, as well as get some amazing feedback and assistance. Thanks so much to the BNBF Pros and experienced athletes who gave up their Saturday to help us.

I got to see some of my new bodybuilding friends again (hi Sinead, Shaherah, Phem, Annie U!) and meet some new faces. I left feeling inspired, excited and hugely focused. 28 days to go, and I’m ready to attack them all!

Have you had a good weekend? Did you train, race or compete?


(excuse the paleness – no tan and in a very bright garden!)

Leg training 28 days out is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

13 Responses to Leg training 28 days out

  1. Shambler says:

    Nic, your legs look AMAzing! As does the rest of you, of course! You are an inspiration with your dedication and determination to be your best! Go Girl!
    x

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Just a little bit of “pump” eh?! Plus I was putting to use the tips I picked up from BNBF club yesterday – such small and simple tweaks but I just hadn’t thought of them – very glad I went! X
      PS Massage was great, legs felt very good the next day (although a bit tired) and the stomach massage helped too – much less bloated the following morning THANK YOU!

      Like

      • Shambler says:

        Your legs certainly felt good when I was massaging you – as a therapist it really is amazing to be able to feel each muscle! Glad you felt good afterwards and also glad I was able to ease that lil’ watermelon belly you had going on there!
        x

        Like

      • thefitwriter says:

        *parp*! No idea what that was all about but I am SO very glad it’s (more or less) gone now. Last thing I wanted to do was go to BNBF club with a drum belly – not good for trying to do ‘ab and thigh’ pose!

        Glad my legs are interesting/useful to you ;D xx

        Like

  2. Juliet says:

    I love the smile in the last picture, it’s almost like a look of surprise. 🙂

    Your legs are killer, I think you’re going to rock it!!!

    Like

  3. Wendy says:

    Darling Nic, I’ve missed some of your last posts – what with getting married and moving to America in the last 3 weeks but it’s wonderful to be catching up now. Looking AMAZING, I’m astounded but it really does seem to me that your legs and abs are even more defined and so well done on the hard work.

    It’s my week’s anniversary in America today and though I’ve only really seen the inside of classrooms so far I went yesterday to find myself a little bicycle! Once I’ve found my way around you’ll have to give me a list of specific American stuff you need and I’ll see if I can find it. At least I know the hospital where the P2B is sold!

    Lots of love

    Wendy xx

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Hey hey! Glad you are settling in – I can’t believe it’s a week – seems like longer but shorter at the same time! I miss you xxx

      Thanks for the comments on abs and legs, exactly what I’ve been working extra-hard on so that’s good to hear!

      Well done on the bike 😀 That’s fab, great idea for getting around campus/town.

      Anything you ever want from over here just say and it shall be winging its way to you forthwith and hitherforeto! ;D
      xxx

      Like

  4. You look AMAZING. As I’m sure you know. But seriously…WOW…your legs are KILLER!!

    And yeah — a couple of years ago before I got into the whole bbing scene I DEFINITELY thought posing was easy. Ha! Not even a little bit.

    Like

  5. Kat Millar says:

    So cool to see you today and you’re looking amazing in the flesh as well as these pics. So close now, and I’m with you all the way! Keep going strong and hitting those killer sessions!!

    Like

  6. […] Olympic bar, split squats, leg press, calves and then a nasty finisher (I think I blogged about it here). Then some abs (Amie’s abs are to die for and I was hoping some of it would rub off on […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

