StepSuccess walking experiment update 4

Here’s the latest update in my walking experiment! (The previous updates are here, here and here.)

As my competition dates creep closer, I haven’t been striding around the county with the stripey dog as much as I was a few weeks ago. I’m running low on energy and need to channel it into maintaining muscle (and, you know, doing work and stuff like that!)

That said, here are the vital stats for w/c 29th August from my StepSuccess unit:

Any new PBs?

12,500+ steps on 14th August. That was whilst my husband was in Canada, and it was a Sunday, which meant I walked the dog twice (one being a longer walk than usual, because I have more time at weekends) and went to the gym twice (I walk there and back).
6.14 miles on the same day. Not really surprising!
2 hours 21 minutes on 1st September. I’ve no idea why. That was last Thursday and it was raining. I’d have to get up and find my training diary to shed more light on this little factoid and, quite honestly, I can’t be bothered. Sorry.

Since I started tracking my walking on 2nd August

In summary, last week, I:
– walked 41,136 steps (and plenty of undocumented ones!)
– walked for 8 hours 42 mins (and a few more)
– covered 19.48 miles

I think this will be my final StepSuccess update, as I really won’t be walking any more than I need to this week or next, and after that… well who knows what I’ll be up to! (I’ll certainly be walking with my husband to our favourite local restaurant, that’s for sure. I may not wear the StepSuccess on my shoe, though.) Thank you to StepSuccess for lending me the unit, it’s been fun!

TheFitDog says hi, and hopes you’re enjoying lots of walks yourself.

StepSuccess walking experiment update 4 is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

2 Responses to StepSuccess walking experiment update 4

  1. Have you thought about what you’ll do ‘after’? It can be quite a daunting prospect! xx

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Not sure but am never without a goal/training ;D “Been there done that” with the post-big-goal blues plenty of times – not nice and know I always need at least some kind of goal in place no matter how random or remote.

      I think I will compete again next year so it won’t be a radical change ie back to endurance sport in 2012, but over Winter I’d like to mix training up a bit to include other stuff. I may have a regular magazine commission which will mean I’ll have to try a few new sports (just in a “try it out” kind of a way) so that will fit in nicely. I’ve kind of thought about it, but not too much… plenty of time for that after a holiday with the hubby in Nov 😀 x

      Like

Please leave a reply

