Aaaaand relax

I’m not very good at relaxing. Chilling out. Taking it easy.

Doing nothing seems like a waste of time to me. I once told my husband that the reason I go to the toilet so few times during the day is that it’s just so boring.

However, as we all know, recovery is good. Cortisol is bad. Rest helps us repair and grow so we can build our bodies for bigger and better things.

The solution? Take me out of my normal environment, jolt me out of my routine, and put me in one of my happy places.

This may look like a perfectly ordinary sofa to you, but I assure you it has magical powers. It belongs to Richard (of Richard’s Transrockies) and his good lady wife Penny (who doesn’t blog -but, if she did, would almost certainly have a literary-review kind of a blog).

This huge, saggy, comfortable leather sofa sits in the conservatory at R&P’s house in Wales. It has soporific powers. Sit on this sofa and you will relax. Put your head back and close your eyes, and the tension will flow out of your shoulders. If you want to get serious, wait until the guys have left the house for a day of mountain biking, make yourself a cup of tea, lie on the sofa with a cushion under your head and a blanket over you and nod off. Don’t fight it; you can’t anyway. Even in November, the sun coming through the glass of the conservatory makes it feel like you’re lying on a beach somewhere.

It’s like a month’s-worth of sleep, a course of meditation lessons and massage rolled into one.

Cortisol? What’s that?

Aaaaand relax is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

One Response to Aaaaand relax

  1. Juliet says:

    I LOVE BIG SINKY SOFAS. I wish I had one đŸ˜¦

    One day, my dream living room will have a sofa of the magical variety for sure.

    Like

Please leave a reply

