Guest post: Anna from Protein Pow(d)er with a chocolate cake recipe


Today, Anna from Protein Pow(d)er gives us a very easy, very delicious recipe using hemp protein powder. As you know, GOOD Hemp kindly support my sporting endeavours, so I’m delighted to give you a variety of ways to use their products. I’ve got a recipe series up my sleeve, but I have to say this recipe from Anna is a fantastic one to kick us off! I urge to to try this… it’s fantastic.

When Nicola asked me whether I’d like to write a guest post, my first thought was ‘HELL YEAH!’ See, I’m a massive fan of her blog (and her absolute awesomeness! she’s a jaw-dropping champ and, as you guys already know, a tremendously inspiring person) so it was definite GO from me from the beginning. Knowing that Nicola is also a big fan of chocolate hemp protein powder, I thought it’d be appropriate to make a protein cake using it :-)))))

I love making protein cakes because they are so absurdly easy (you just blend everything together and, if you want, add some protein frosting) and, alongside a cup of coffee? Well, well, well *sigh* the whole thing can be quite disarming 😀 Anyways, without further ado, here’s the recipe:

Chocolate protein cake with coconut vanilla frosting

Ingredients
1 medium sweet potato (111g)
3/8 cups of chocolate hemp protein powder (56g)
1 cup liquid egg whites (170g)
1/4 cup cocoa (20g)
1 medjool date (pitted)
3/8 cups of milk (75g)
1tsp of baking powder

Frosting
1 tbsp quark (23g)
1/4 cup of dissecated coconut
1 scoop of vanilla whey (20g)
bit of water (or milk)

Directions:
Mix all the cake ingredients together using a blender.
Bake at 160 degrees C for about 35 minutes (until a knife comes out clean.)
Take it out and let it cool.
When cool, mix together the frosting ingredients and top the baby up 🙂

Macros per 1 slice if you slice it into 4: 208kcals, 21g protein, 14g carbo (6g sugars), 7.8g fat (4g sat) and 5g fiber!

Yum, yum, thanks Anna! I have a few recipes of my own – using chocolate hemp – to share soon, lots of them inspired by your kitchen adventures!

Anna blogs at Protein Pow(d)er and also has a very active Facebook page.

“Guest post: Anna from Protein Pow(d)er with a chocolate cake recipe” is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

6 Responses to Guest post: Anna from Protein Pow(d)er with a chocolate cake recipe

  1. This sounds amazing! What size / type of cake tin do you use? (get me!)

    Like

  2. thefitwriter says:

    I’m not sure… Anna?

    Like

  3. […] I’m glad you liked the guest posts from Hey Joob!, girlontheriver and Protein Pow(d)er whilst I was away. If you didn’t catch them, take a look. Joob wrote about rising obesity rates, girlontheriver made a case for rowing and Anna from Protein Pow(d)er gave us a recipe. […]

    Like

  4. Anna says:

    ah! i just realized I never wrote back! I used a 9inch silicone cake mould akin to this: http://images-en.busytrade.com/142388800/Sell-9-Inch-Silicone-Round-Pan.jpg

    🙂

    Like

  5. […] Click here to see the recipe, I wrote it as a guest post for Nicola’s blog, check it out – her blog is awesome! […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

