Training at Castle gym

Christmas came early for me today. I was invited to go and train at an independent gym run by bodybuilders and, when I got there, they offered me free membership. You realise what this means. I can now train at a gym which has things like a squat rack, and more than one Olympic bar. :-O

Today was the best training session I’ve had in a long time, and I am very grateful to the guys at Castle for offering me membership. To say that it will benefit my bodybuilding training is an understatement. Training in that environment, with other bodybuilders and competitors, and with all that kit and equipment, will transform things for me. I’ll be able to do more, I’ll always have someone to spot me, and the atmosphere will be hugely motivating.

Look, there’s a squat rack! And a hack squat machine! And a vertical leg press machine! And… and… 😀 I was like a kid in a sweet shop, just looking round and beaming (and wondering what half of the stuff was).

As if free training at a proper bodybuilding gym wasn’t enough for one day, I ended up being coached by the guy who coaches one of the women who inspires me most in this sport (in fact, her picture is on my kitchen wall this year). As Castle’s owner Jason Joyce (no relation, but a fun co-incidence!) showed me round, he introduced me to Jerry. I recognised Jerry immediately as powerlifter Jerry Fox, the partner and coach of Helen Stack, former NPA overall women’s Champion, INBF World Champion and now WNBF Pro.

Jerry kindly ended up giving me some coaching points and helping me through a few sets of squats (in an actual squat rack! 😉 ) and his advice was so helpful (and his encouragement greatly appreciated).

I ended up doing a fantastic leg session, and could have stayed there all day – but there’s this thing called Christmas Day coming up soon, and we have a fair few things left to do.

You may thinks it’s a bit sad that I’m so excited about training at an independent bodybuilding gym, but you have to understand that my regular gym is not equipped for (nor populated by) bodybuilders. It’s a great gym, I love it there, and will continue to train there too, but I often wish I had access to various bits of kit, a spotter, or the company of other bodybuilders. I now have all of those things.

If you’re in the Windsor area, I really encourage you to go along to Castle Gym. It’s fantastic. I’ll see you there.

Jason, thank you so much for inviting me to your facility, and for your kind offer of membership. It was a fantastic surprise and an amazing opportunity which I’m delighted to take up!

Training at Castle gym is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

11 Responses to Training at Castle gym

  1. Fifi says:

    Hi!
    We’ll have to meet up there for a session!? (& a coffee & a good natter!) Windsor isn’t a million miles for me :-)xx

    Like

  2. Tara says:

    When we started looking into moving to London, one of the first things I did was research gyms. I was blown away by how many bodybuilder-specific gyms there are in London! I would absolutely love to work out in a gym like that. My current gym is full of completely clueless people. I can count on one hand the number of people who do deadlifts, for example. I can’t wait to check a gym like this out!

    Like

  3. Donloree says:

    This is awesome in SO many ways. 🙂 Wow. I love it. What an amazing Christmas present and I can’t wait to hear and see what this does for you training. 😀 Awesome.

    Like

  4. Karryann says:

    What a fantastic Christmas present 🙂

    Have a great Christmas and a fantastic 2012…

    xxxx

    Like

  5. YAYYYYYYYYY!!!!! Sounds like SUCH an awesome gym!! This is perfect for you Nic!
    Super super excited for you and can’t wait to hear all about the muscle-smashing you’ll be doing!! WOOOOOP!! I’m so jealous you have a hack squat machine!! Haven’t had one of those in any gyms I’ve been in for at least a decade, they are wicked – hope you have a wheelchair ready lol x

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Oh Kat it’s so great there, I love it! Wish you could come with me! I’ll have to take some video at some point 😀 Lots of muscle-smashing already and yep the hack squat machine is cool! X

      Like

  6. […] doesn’t often train at Castle Gym but, from time to time, she pops in, and hopefully we’ll get to train again soon. I’m […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

