Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Bio Synergy Skinny Protein Shake, Acai Berry capsules

Hello from a very rainy fitwriter central. The dog is not impressed. Here is the latest Fitness kit I’ve tested this week post.

I was recently sent a couple of items from Bio Synergy. For the past 10 years, the brand has been creating high quality nutritional supplements, ranging from sports performance to slimming products. Their latest range – Body Perfect supplements – use various natural extracts like green tea, resveratrol and acai berry, to boost results.


First up, I tried the Skinny Protein Shake in the strawberry flavour. This whey powder (which also has soya extract) contains extra ingredients to help control appetite and encourage fat loss: green tea, guarana, chromium (which can reduce sugar cravings) and l-carnitine. It also packs a hefty protein punch, as you’d expect. I like the sound of those extra ingredients, and indeed most of them are supplements I already take. What about the taste and mixability of the powder? It mixed very well and was pretty sweet (sweetened with sucralose) and light tasting, quite like a milkshake I guess. I’ve said before that I’m not a huge fan of berry protein shakes, but if you like strawberry milkshakes, then you’ll probably like this.

With that in mind, I gave my sister some of this to try, and this is what she had to say: “The Bio Synergy Skinny Shake is actually really nice, it mixes together with water really quickly and is very smooth (unlike some protein powders that I’ve found I have to blend, and even then they’re still a bit grainy). I only have to mix this one in the flask thingy you gave me and only have to give it a little shake. The flavour is just right, not sickly or heavy. It’s refreshing and easy to drink quickly! Yum yum, I am looking forward to drinking a lot more of this!”

If you’re interested in introducing the chromium, l-carnitine etc into your nutrition regime, this is certainly a convenient way of doing it, particularly if you’re not confident about adding bits and bobs to your water bottle or taking various pills during the day.

Per 40g serving:
162kcals
30.7g protein
3g carbs (from sugar)
3g fat (2.4g from saturates)


I also tried the Acai Berry capsules. You take two caps a day (2x2000mg) of this extract of acai berry, apparently used by Brazilian aboriginal communities for fat-loss and to combat obesity. The extracts of the purple acai berry, they say, containing anti-oxidants, anti-carcinogens and anti-ageing agents, boosting immunity and metabolism. Acai berry contains EFAs (essential fatty acids), amino acids, phytosterols and antioxidants, as well as fibre and digestive enzymes.

Now, the problem here is this: it’s very difficult for me to say whether one supplement or other truly helps me, unless the results are going to be something very obvious. I’m not obese, I exercise regularly, I eat for fat-loss and I already supplement with lots of other things. So it’s very difficult for me to say whether or not these capsules had an effect. I’m sorry, Bio Synergy people! I can say that they were very easy to take, completely tasteless and gave me nothing in the way of side-effects.

Have you taken Acai supplements? What do you think of them?

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Bio Synergy Skinny Protein Shake, Acai Berry capsules is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

12 Responses to Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Bio Synergy Skinny Protein Shake, Acai Berry capsules

  1. Karen says:

    Out of interest how big were the Acai caps? I’ve got some that are like horse tablets and I struggle to swallow them!

    The Shake sounds like its worth a try πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. thisfitchick says:

    the acai caps sounds very intriguing! I’m defs interesting in the pro powder though- i love pp!

    Like

  3. Sista says:

    If I’d known I was going to be quoted directly, I wouldn’t have said words like “thingy” and made myself sound like a 5 year old ; )

    Like

  4. Karryann says:

    Hi Nic, I know you test these supps out, but what are the supps you choose to take on a regular basis.
    Sorry, just interested πŸ˜‰
    xx

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Great idea for a blog post! I do have some particular recommendations. Will write the post soon πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Karryann says:

        I’ll be looking forward to that blog post. As I’m new to all this body builiding malarkey, I’m really interested to how you all get your amazing physiques! I do realise it’s mainly a good diet and hard work in the gym( think that bit I’m on the right track!)
        πŸ™‚

        Like

      • thefitwriter says:

        If you’ve got those two right then you’re a-ok. Supplements are the icing on the cake. Blog post to come! (it might be quite long….lol…eek!)

        Like

  5. […] of all, a few bits from Bio Synergy. I’ve tested Bio Synergy products before (here) but this time I was sent Green Tea capsules, NO2 capsules and a little protein […]

    Like

  6. […] Nutri1st Advanced protein products Monkey Nutrition whey isolate Primal26 Bio Synergy Bio Synergy and Melanie Sykes supplement range What I learned from the Phil Learney Fat Loss & […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

