A couple of thank yous (and did you watch the Jodie Marsh bodybuilding show?)

I’m feeling particularly fortunate at the moment. And a few thank yous are due.

I told you a while ago that Castle Gym, a bodybuilding/powerlifting gym not too far from me, offered me free membership. I love training at Castle (I tend to go there for my “big lifts” days – legs, back, chest) and am convinced it’s going to transform my training this year. In fact, it already has. So, a massive thank you to Jason and everyone else at Castle. I really am grateful for the membership and love training at your facility.

Then there’s my local gym, St Crispins (a Harper’s gym). A while ago, their PR people asked me to send a few bodybuilding photos and give a little comment about my experiences of training at St Crispins. I was happy to; I’ve trained there for years, during my swimming days, my triathlon days, my oh-my-god-I-love-Les-Mills-classes! days. The staff are wonderful, have been so supportive of my bodybuilding training, and are the first people I ran to with my trophies last season.

What I didn’t anticipate was the offer of free PT. Not just a couple of sessions, but a session a week throughout my 2012 prep. Thank you, thank you! (Although I’m not sure “thank you” will be quite the two words I’ll utter doing a conditioning PT session at St Crispins the day after doing legs at Castle…!)

On another note, the Jodie Marsh bodybuilding TV show was aired last night, but I didn’t get to see it because I don’t have Sky or Virgin. Jodie competed last year with the NPA and placed 5th at the Mike Williams Classic. I’m sure I’ll catch the show at some point but, in the meantime, did you see it? What did you think? If you didn’t know much about competitive bodybuilding, did anything surprise you?

Oh, one more thing! My fellow Physique competitor Anna Millington (who had a completely stellar year in 2011, culminating in a World Title) has written a fascinating report of her 2011 season – and everything which led to that high point in her bodybuilding career – on the NPA site. Read it here – it’s long, but worth it.

A couple of thank yous (and did you watch the Jodie Marsh bodybuilding show?) is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

One Response to A couple of thank yous (and did you watch the Jodie Marsh bodybuilding show?)

  1. Fifi says:

    WoW! Nice one!
    :-)xx

    Like

Please leave a reply

