Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Bare Naked Noodles

Today, thefitwriter blog is mostly imitating a food blog. ie, I have just taken a photograph of my dinner. LOL.

It’s all for a good reason, though. You see, I was sent these noodles in the week, and have just scoffed them for my dinner, and need to tell you about them.

Bare Naked Food have developed noodles/spaghetti which are low carb, low cal, high fibre and contain absolutely no nasties or yukky fake stuff. No gluten, no sugar, just water, konjac flour, soybean fibre and oatmeal flour. “Sauce” notwithstanding, my bowl contained fewer than 30kcals, 1g or so protein, zero fat, fewer than 5g carbs and significant fibre (not surprising, since it’s made of fibre!) *parp*

This is useful for people like me who laugh in the face of traditional noodles and pasta, but sometimes want something noodlesque as a companion for sauces or stirfries. I sometimes use shirataki noodles but, really, they’re not that great. They are absolutely nothing like noodles, in fact. They all stick together and they’re a weird texture and… well, these are just lots better!

Let’s be completely honest, these still neither taste like, nor have the mouthfeel of, actual noodles or spaghetti. But they’re not actual noodles or spaghetti so… you know, what do you expect?

They do have a good texture, a bit like al dente pasta, and no funny taste of their own. In short, I’d much rather eat these than shirataki noodles and I will be buying more of them. This is what they look like, close up.

They take on the taste of whatever you add to them. I tried them with a tuna-type “pasta sauce” but I’d love to try them with stirfry or somehow make them into egg fried noodles? Looks like I need to get some more!

Read about them here (you can get them with a low carb chili sauce) and read another recipe (and decidedly more appealing photos!) in my friend Anna’s blog review of them here. In the meantime, here’s what I did (I can’t believe food bloggers do this kind of thing every day!)

Ingredients
One packet Bare Naked Food noodles
One tin tuna (Mr J West)
1 tbs nutritional yeast
100g quark
Bit of onion and mushroom cooked in coconut oil
Mrs Dash
Black pepper
Fresh parsley

“Recipe”
Mix everything except the noodles in a pan til heated through. Add whatever seasonings you like (I used Mrs Dash extra hot spicy red chili one, and black pepper).
Drain and rinse the noodles. Add the noodles to the sauce, mix and heat through.
Get one of your “special occasion” dishes down from the top cupboard “because this is going on the blog!”, plate up.
Belatedly chop some parsley “because this is going on the blog!” and garnish.
Eat. Feel very full.

Thank you, Bare Naked Food people! Find them online here or on Facebook here.

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Bare Naked Noodles is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

4 Responses to Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Bare Naked Noodles

  1. […] I finally got to actually meet Ross of BareNakedFood – I reviewed his original low-carb noodles here – what a lovely chap. He kindly gave me some of his new high-protein noodles to try out […]

    Like

  2. […] when I reviewed Bare Naked Noodles? Well, I met Ross (the man behind the brand) at this year’s Bodypower Expo and he kindly gave […]

    Like

  3. […] Seminar I went to in 2013 – An old review of Monkey Nutrition whey isolate – A review post of Bare Naked Noodles (this pings to the top every time they’re in the press or whenever Ross’s […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

