TheFitDog on diet

I regularly get Tweets, Facebook requests and direct messages asking for more blog posts from my dog. Yes, really. The thing about Frankie is, he’s not that great at typing. He has lots of ideas, but then he forgets them. And if there’s food around, forget it (forget what?!) But we can not deny the repeated requests of such a strong fanbase.

Here are his posts thus far:
Advice for a happy life
Offers to answer your training questions
Then answers your fitness questions

And here is the latest blog post from my dog.

Hi guys! Today I thought I’d focus on DIET. Diet means food! And food is brilliant.

I wanted to talk about FOOD for a couple of reasons. Firstly, I haven’t been doing much training, just cardio really: long walks and then HIIT chasing after my football (blog post to come on my collection of balls, how I came about them all and how I select a ball depending on what I want to achieve out of my session).

Secondly, Nic recently posted the picture below on her Facebook wall, and I know most of you are probably thinking “wow, how did he get that ripped and muscular? What is his diet?” So I am going to talk you through what I eat, what I like to eat, what I wish I could eat and maybe even some of my favourite products.

By the way, for all you bodybuilders out there who wish you could do such a great rear-lat spread, here’s my top tip. It will never fail you. Just turn around and imagine there’s a CAT in the GARDEN! Honestly, it will make you so puffed up and enraged your lats will flare like mad and you will look massive. Top tip right there, guys!

Obviously I mostly eat actual dog food, but that’s by far the most boring part of my diet, so that’s all I’m going to say about that. As well as dog food, I eat:

– vegetables, mainly cruciferous.
I love the crunch!
Favourites: cauliflower (only the outside leaves), brocolli (only the stalks), cabbage (red or white), brussels sprouts (bit tricky to get a purchase on, can fall out of the mouth and roll around), cucumber. Once, I stole availed myself of a whole entire cauliflower, but I only ate the leaves. Another time I stole caught (as it was falling off the kitchen surface) a red cabbage. I ate the whole thing! Then I was sick a bit on the carpet (which is cream coloured).

– meat! Sometimes I am lucky enough to get odds and ends of whatever Nic is cooking. Here is me taking a look at what she’s got out of the freezer for the week, just so I know what might be coming my way.

When Nic makes something in the slow-cooker, I get to eat my dinner out of the slow-cooker bowl once it’s empty! This is probably my favourite meal of the week.

Nic gets her meat from various places but, in my expert opinion (I am a dog, after all), the best ones are:
– Athleat (I even made it onto their website! OMG! Look – can you spot me?) Nic says put “nicolamillichip” in at checkout you’’ll get 10% off your order. My favourite product is their grass-fed mince, Nic’s is their chicken breast.

Westin Gourmet – I love their sausages (Nic loves their chicken and turkey) and on the topic of sausages, if you go to here, you’ll get free sausages on your order! Whooo-ha!

Nic also cooks quite a lot of “exotic” meat as her treats, I just asked her where she gets it from and she said Osgrow and Kezie. She also gets her fish from Regal Fish Supplies, but I can’t give a personal recommendation on these items as I have never once been allowed to sample any 😦

– Coconut oil.
I just can’t get enough of this. Here are a few pictures of me with an empty tub, and even a video. I just wanted to show you all how much I love it. Nic gives me about a tsp of the oil (it’s solid) on her hand every morning and I go crazy when I see the tub. I think it gives my ears a nice shine; what do you think? Shiny ears are very important. Nic got this tub from myprotein but you can get it other places, too.

Here’s a video of me and an empty tub

– Water!
The only thing I drink is water and I honestly believe it is a big factor in my all-round awesomeness. I’ve tried tea; don’t like it. I don’t fancy coffee and I’ve never been tempted by booze. One thing I would say – from experience – don’t fall asleep of an evening and then wake up really thirsty so you end up drinking a ton of water just before bed. You’ll only need to bark to be let out for a wee in the night!

Anyway, I hope that answers some of your questions about how I manage to be so muscly and shiny. If there’s anything else you’d like to know, feel free to drop Nic a line and she will pass the message on to me. My next blog post will be about BALLS!

TheFitDog on diet is a post from the Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

6 Responses to TheFitDog on diet

  1. Frankie, great to see that you are keeping Nic on her toes and making sure she eats all the good stuff 🙂

    Like

  2. Tara says:

    Ha, love this! Digging the lat spread 😉

    Like

  3. Brilliant 🙂 Loved reading it Frankie!!

    Like

  4. […] has gone to thefitdog‘s oversized square head. After your comments on his post yesterday, he is convinced that everyone wants to see or hear from him on a regular basis. So, here he is […]

    Like

  5. […] his most recent blog post, Frankie the office dog promised a future post on the topic of balls. He is a dog of his word, so […]

    Like

  6. […] reviews I’ve ever done (!) are here The Fit Dog’s blog posts: Advice for a happy life A few words on a healthy diet thefitdog talks balls thefitdog on training partners Offers to answer your training questions Then […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

