Do you Pinterest?

I signed up to Pinterest ages ago, forgot about it, and lost my password.

Then last week I was speaking (as part of a panel of fitness journalists) at the Fitness Industry Association’s monthly communications forum, and one of the other speakers gave some stats about Pinterest which encouraged me to hit that “forgot your password?” link and get stuck in. The take-home fact was that Pinterest is the fastest-growing social networking site in history. And, in the UK, the gender split of Pinterest users is far more balanced than elsewhere, and actually slightly weighted towards the chaps (56% male and 44% female).

Well. 24 hours later and I’m addicted. I woke up the next day thinking about boards I simply must create. I got a thrill when someone repinned one of my pins. Then Jamie Eason started following my boards and, well, that was that.

Do you pin (what’s the official verb for one who uses Pinterest?) Are you a….er… Pinner? (?) Here’s a great beginners’ guide from Mashable and a fab infographic from econsultancy (thank you to my social media guru Melanie at Scarletta Media for the links!) Apparently it’s going to be the social network to watch in 2012. I don’t know about that. I just love the pretty pictures.

Find me on Pinterest here. Leave me a comment with your Pinterest link so I can check out your pins! ;D

Do you Pinterest? is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

12 Responses to Do you Pinterest?

  1. kwaikwai says:

    Still waiting for my Pinterest invite…feel like Im waiting for an important letter!

    Like

  2. Another one!!!!! how much more of my life can I give over to these things…….considering I have only recently got onto Twitter I fully expect to get onto Pinterest in 2015

    Like

  3. I am delighted to see you on Pinterest Nicola. I am using it to source images and ideas for the time being and not to directly promote my business or build a large following. It is something that I enjoy and not another social chore.

    So Happy Pinning!
    Mel

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Thanks Mel, it does seem really enjoyable and not a chore! Thanks for your encouragement (and for the links and blog post references above). Happy to have you as my social media guru!

      Like

  4. flick161 says:

    I’ve asked to join to check it out properly. I’ll be intrigued to see what it looks like – I can imagine it being a good place to produce a mood board, but may have got that completely wrong!
    Flick x

    Like

  5. Tara says:

    Gah, I just don’t need another time suck! Haha

    Like

  6. flick161 says:

    Yep you were right, I love it, though can potentially see if becoming quite addictive!

    Like

Please leave a reply

