Cardio with an old friend

Today’s cardio session saw me reunited with an old friend.

Aloha Friday and I go way back. She’s my old triathlon training bike (the blacker, lighter and altogether more terrifying “Venus” is/was my race bike). Goodness knows how many miles we’ve ridden together, from training rides to triathlons and long sportifs.

It’s been at least a year since I last rode her. Today, the weather here is just stunning: more like June than March. So, after recovering and refuelling after this morning’s chest and triceps session, I unhooked Aloha from the wall, brushed the cobwebs (!) off her, pumped her tyres up and gingerly clipped in.

Success! We had a wonderful 55-minute ride and covered just a touch over 15 miles, which I’m really chuffed with given the amount of riding I’ve done in the past 12 months or so (…none) and the change in training, diet and body composition. And I didn’t feel rubbish! 🙂

I do hope this lovely weather sticks around for a bit so Aloha and I can revisit some more of our old stomping grounds.

This gives me an idea for a series of blog posts, and I thought I’d ask if it’s something you’d be interested in reading. Over the years, I’ve trained (at varying levels of seriousness and with varying levels of success!) at running, cycling, swimming, triathlon, open-water swimming, channel swimming and bodybuilding. I thought a “Training sessions from the archives” idea might be fun, looking at what I was doing on “this day…..1 year ago/2 years ago/4 years ago” etc. I’ve always keep some form of journal, so I’ve got it all logged, warts and all. Let me know if you think that would be fun(ny) to read.

Have you switched sports? Do you miss any of your old sports? Do you ever revisit training sessions, venues or methods?

Cardio with an old friend is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

9 Responses to Cardio with an old friend

  1. fitterreally says:

    reading about your re-acquaintance with Aloha makes me want to jump on my Trusty Steed for a ride 🙂 I’ve switched my training focus from running/riding/swimming to more strength training and HIIT – which i love but every now and then when I see lycra on the road, I feel the urge to jump back on my bike. Might have to pump up the tyres and test my legs (and lungs!) one of these days…

    Like

  2. Helen Milton says:

    Oh yes please I’d love to read about how your trained for your swimming and triathlons

    Like

  3. I’d be interested too. On Tuesday I get back on Nelly, my training bike, for the first time since September, although it has been two years since we did a proper ride together.

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Nelly! 😀 I’m just working out how to access all the old Sports Tracks data (it’s on an old harddrive) and then I’ll start the blog series. I think it’s going to be pretty funny! I’ll write out the journal entries word for word unless they’re excruciatingly embarrassing….

      Like

  4. […] most recent blog post (last week – sorry for going AWOL) saw me reunited with a friend from my previous life as an […]

    Like

  5. Donloree says:

    Too funny! I am planning on pulling out my bike from my triathlon days this week. The snow is finally melting and the puddles are diminishing. 😀

    Like

Please leave a reply

