Mystery plant a great gift for bodybuilders!

My green-fingered friend Zoe popped round earlier. She’s such a successful gardener, she always has seeds and plants to give away and, of course, she knows I’m a big veg-eater.

This time, amongst the tomatoes and chili plants, she had a new gift for me. Something which she thought would be particularly useful for a dieting bodybuilder. Here it is:

What can it be?

Hang on… is it… ?

Yes, it’s a Stevia plant! I’ve reviewed Stevia tablets before and of course my sponsors, GOOD Hemp Nutrition, recently launched a new version of their protein powder which is sweetened with Stevia. But I’ve never seen the actual plant, let alone owned one.

How exciting! Thanks, Zoe! 😀

Now, all I have to do is a) not kill the thing and b) work out what to do with it? I am not in possession of an industrial grinding machine with which to make Stevia powder. So… any ideas? Let me know if you know of a way to use the Stevia plant, perhaps as an infusion (<— always loved that word, great to be able to use it in a blog post) or in baking?

PS Are you going to Bodypower? I’m heading up there just for the Friday. I’d love to meet with Editors, clients, prospects, friends and blog readers. Drop me a line and let’s make it happen!

Mystery plant a great gift for bodybuilders! is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

10 Responses to Mystery plant a great gift for bodybuilders!

  1. I’m not familiar with how they make stevia powder, but what about dehydrating and grinding down the leaves?

    Like

  2. I’m interested to learn what the options are for Mr. Steve (my petname for your new plant,lol). What is Bodypower?

    Like

  3. ZoeS says:

    Hello and you’re welcome!
    Have a look here for details –> http://www.stevia.net/growingstevia.htm
    It has details on what to do with the plant and how to get the sweetness out of it.
    Keep me posted on how you get on…
    Zoe
    PS more plants will be coming your way…

    Like

  4. Tara says:

    OK, I’m obviously living under a rock because I did not know about Bodypower!! I’ve just looked it up and I’m dying to go!!! Unfortunately my husband has to work all weekend, but he’s going to try to get out of it. It’s our anniversary on the 22nd and we have a habit of being at bodybuilding expos/competitions every year! Haha I’ll keep you posted if I can make it xxx

    Like

    • Tara says:

      Woohoo! We are going 🙂 When I told him who was going, it was not hard to convince him haha We’re going to go up Saturday night, and we’ll be there Sunday.

      Oh no…I just reread and saw that you’re only going on Friday 😦 Boo! We will meet one day, eventually! Haha

      Like

      • thefitwriter says:

        Have a great time! Yes I’m just going on the Friday, I want to get down to biznazz and think it’s better if I avoid the more crowded weekend days. We WILL meet one of these days LOL! X

        Like

  5. […] is a natural, calorie-free sweetener taken from the stevia leaf. (Remember when my friend Zoe gave me a stevia plant?) It has the consistency of sugar and can be used just as you’d use sugar: in tea or coffee, […]

    Like

  6. […] I’m currently growing green chilis, peppers and tomatoes supplied by Zoe, and that Stevia plant she gave me is still growing!) As I said to her when she brought these round, she couldn’t […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

