Fitness kit I’ve reviewed this week: Nature’s Best nutritional supplements

Oh, hi! A few weeks ago, I wrote this blog post, an interview with Dr Sam Christie, in which she kindly gave some suggestions about nutritional/dietary supplements which might benefit me during my bodybuilding prep. She works as a consultant for Nature’s Best, and the company generously sent me everything she recommended. It’s taken me a few weeks to get through it all and give it a fair chance but here is my review of the products I was sent:

Vitamin C, Siberian Ginseng, omega 3 fish oils, MultiGuard Balance, Vitamin D and OsteoGuard.

First up, the Vitamin C. This stuff contains 500mg Vit C (as well as 50mg citrus bioflavonoid and 25mg rosehip powder) per tablet. Most people don’t get enough Vitamin C even if they supplement with a pill. It’s recommended that we actually take in upwards of 3g per day, particularly if training hard or under any other kind of stress (ha! ha!) So I’ve been chucking those bad boys back like there’s no tomorrow. Well, slight exaggeration. I have been taking 6/day – a total of 3g. I have been fit and healthy and devoid of any illness or infection, despite being under significant stress at the moment (training and other). Two enthusiastic thumbs up for this product!

Now, the Siberian Ginseng. In Dr Christie’s post, she suggested that ginseng was a good alternative to caffeine, giving all the benefits without the unwanted side-effects. I am a caffeine monster. I don’t care about the side-effects. I could bathe in coffee, rub coffee grounds into my eyeballs and swim through lakes of Red Bull and then dance around the house to Kiss 100 and still go back for more. Still, I realise that I have a duty to explore alternative ways of caning my adrenal system, so I accepted this unassuming little pot of green tablets – 1500mg each of top-quality ginseng – with grateful thanks.

The verdict: I love! Don’t get me wrong, it’s no double ristretto piccolo but I definitely feel it gives me a boost without the buzz. You know how caffeine can sometimes give you the jitters? *twitch* Well with this Siberian Ginseng, you get none of that. You take one tablet first thing and it just… keeps you going, somehow. I take it daily. It’s not a noticeable boost like with coffee or sugar or anything like that. But I bet I would notice the difference if I didn’t take it. I’ll be ordering some more!

Next up, the omega 3 fish oils. I have been sharing these with my training partner: yes, thefitdog has been benefitting from fish oils in his diet! He already loves coconut oil (video evidence), so I thought what the hell. He had a patchy bit of rough skin on his side and it’s almost completely cleared up since giving him 2 fish oil caps/day (it was bald, rough and hairless, now the skin is soft and the hair is growing back). As for me, well I do suffer with dry skin and so I like to take a good quality omega 3 oil. I do feel this omega 3 fish oils is one of the best I’ve used. It’s got 700mg of Omega 3s per capsule (including 360mg EPA and 240mg DHA), is very carefully made/purified and is made in the UK which I think is important for a supplement like this. I feel omega 3 supplements are important not just for skin but for hormone function and generally for a healthy diet. So, another thumbs up for this one. At ยฃ25 for 360 capsules, it works out at under 25p/day* even if you take 3 a day (as I do). *I think. Somebody fetch my abacus!

OK next up are the MultiGuard Balance. It’s a multi-vitamin and -mineral with lots of extras for active people. Like chromium, said to help balance blood glucose levels, magnesium, zinc and alpha-lipoic acid (ALA). There’s also cinnamon in there, and it actually tastes cinnamony (not that you chew it of course, but you can still taste it). This is a good thing as far as I’m concerned. I don’t know whether or not this supplement helped me – it’s hard to tell when you take a few and don’t have some kind of testing/measuring thing set up – but it can’t have been a bad thing. And one thing I can say for sure is that I’ve been as fit as a fiddle and strong as an ox throughout the past few weeks despite a lot of challenges being thrown my way. I haven’t been ill once. Take THAT, challenges! In ya face!

OK, just a couple more: Vitamin D and OsteoGuard. Vitamin D is another important one to take, if you ask me. Our bodies can’t make it and we don’t get much of it from the environment (unless you’re reading this whilst sitting on a beach in Antigua). These tablets are a hefty 1000iu each – a good dosage. Important for bone density and immune health. The Osteoguard is also one for you if you’re concerned about healthy bones: 500mg calcium, 188mg magnesium , vitamin D and vitamin K. Everything you need for healthy bones, regardless of how good your diet is (apparently, 70% of women don’t get enough magnesium from their diets).

Right, I’m outta here. Dogs to walk, cardio to do. I hope that was helpful – in summary, I really feel these products are all super quality and great value for money if you break it down into “per day” costs. Pick and choose the ones which you feel you need most and enjoy feeling healthier!

Bye!

Fitness kit I’ve reviewed this week: Nature’s Best nutritional supplements is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

2 Responses to Fitness kit I’ve reviewed this week: Nature’s Best nutritional supplements

  1. Kat says:

    Very helpful, I’ll be sharing this for sure, thanks Nicola!

    Like

Please leave a reply

