May Foodie Penpals reveal

Last month I told you about a fun new (to me) thing I took part in: “Foodie Penpals”, a blogger food-swap (the UK “branch” of which is organised by Carol Anne at This is Rock Salt.

I took part again this month, so here we are with my reveal post for the month of May!

As I get deeper into bodybuilding prep (and therefore diet), the sound of teeth being gnashed grows ever louder, as my hapless FPP partners struggle valiantly to send me something I can eat and enjoy! I have to say, both of my FPPs have outdone themselves, and I’ve been really very touched by the thought and effort they’ve put in.

This month’s wonderful parcel was from Christine. Christine doesn’t have a blog or Twitter (yet) but is working on it! She told me I could refer to her as an “aspiring blogger”, but secretly I hope she won’t aspire for too long… get your blog going, Christine, so we can all have a read! 🙂

Christine sent me a lovely letter in which she explained her choices and wished me well for my competitions.

Inside the parcel was this bar of dark chocolate from Starbucks (I love dark chocolate, the darker the better!) and also a cute tin of Starbucks Via and another of Green Tea tips.

I’d told Christine I love good coffee and also drink a lot of green tea. She said in her letter that she likes Starbucs Via and thinks it’s one of the better brands of instant out there. I totally agree and, as it happens, I always have some of the sachets of Via in my bag. This tin is really cute though. In fact, when my coach Kat left the UK to go travelling, I bought her one of these tins! 🙂 Great choice, Christine, thank you! I’m really looking forward to trying the green tea, too. (I like loose leaf tea, there’s something lovely about the process of brewing it.)

Christine had also added a generous tub of her very own spicy seed mix – delicious! Seeds are definitely OK in my diet, and having flavoured ones is a lovely treat. These are great: Christine has flavoured them with cayenne spices and soy sauce, so they’re a lovely savoury, salty, spicy crunch. Yum!


Evidently Christine is a bit of a whizz in the kitchen because she also makes her own granola! I told her that granola is something of a dangerous area for me: portion control+granola=does not exist. So she sent me a small amount (thank you!) and also very sweetly boxed mine up before she added dried fruits to the main batch (I don’t eat dried fruit). I have had this granola, after a heavy leg session, and it was gooooood! So much better than any shop bought stuff! It was crunchy and toasty, not too sweet and full of nuts. Christine, you should go into business!


Come closer…

Look deep into my eyes…

Christine’s final gift was a bag of habas fritas, another savoury crunchy treat (anyone would think she’d listened carefully when I said I have a savoury tooth…) Thank you so much Christine for such a thoughtful parcel! I loved opening it and will continue to enjoy the goodies! X

Oh, and I’m not the only one who got spoiled… thefitdog has his own little treat inside the parcel, a gift from Christine’s dog, Coco.

What is it?

Stop taking photos of it and let me eat it…

Sniff

Chomp!

If you want to join in on UK Foodie Penpals, head over to this link. Head here (the site of the original Foodie Penpals idea) for all the May FPPs posts!

May Foodie Penpals reveal is a post from the Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

8 Responses to May Foodie Penpals reveal

  1. Donloree says:

    Foodie penpals! Yum. Such a great and tasty idea. 😀

    Like

  2. Alison says:

    I love all the homemade treats!!

    Like

  3. Rock Salt says:

    Awwww a present for your dog, too! What more could one ask for? Love all the granola photos, it sounds absolutely delicious.

    Like

  4. Oh wow, Christine sounds like an awesome foodie pen pal!! How thoughtful!

    Like

  5. Kat Millar says:

    Nic that tin of Starbucks coffee you bought me when I left UK was an absolute lifesaver. I was low in cash in New York and it did me my entire 10 days – saving me mega and fueling my galavanting around the amazing city. SUCH a good gift (as well as everything else you bought me!) Thanks again!
    Christine sounds like an amazing thoughtful woman 🙂

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Ah, I’m so glad! I still remember our final coffee date (til the NEXT ONE!) up in Costa, swapping totally random gifts – some of which only we would appreciate LOL! x

      Like

Please leave a reply

