Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: NutriPro Bake bars

Hands up who likes baked goods? Yeah, me too. Problem being that normal cookies, brownies and cakes don’t really jive with the whole idea of eating clean and being lean. Or feeling mean. Or however the saying goes. (Eat mean? Train clean? Who knows.)

Anyway, so three cheers for NutriPro Bake for being a wonderful source of high protein, low carb, full-of-healthy fats baked stuff! NutriPro Bake is a little bespoke nutrition company based in Wales, a one-(wo)man band supplying gorgeous homemade treats (to order) to bodybuilders (lots of my friends buy from her) and really anybody who wants to eat nice treats without sabotaging their healthy eating efforts.

Leyna (Ms NutriPro Bake) very kindly offered to send me some sample bars to review. She does have standard bars, cakes and slices but will also make bespoke recipes, either to suit your palate or your macros. She’ll tweak any of her existing products to suit you too – if you don’t like (or can’t eat) walnuts, for example, or if your diet demands a certain set of macros. She really gets it. You don’t have to explain, double check or give reasons. She knows that people like us need to eat a certain way, but she also understands that we don’t want to go without. And, as you’ll see, there’s no reason to go without when you can have NutriPro Bake’s goodies!

When Leyna said she’d send samples, little did I imagine that this is what I’d find on my doorstep – thank you Leyna!

Fresh, moist baked goods ready to be eaten now, kept in the fridge (or a sealed container) for a few days, or even frozen (which is what I did – honest, Kat!)

Someone else shared my excitement…!

So, onto the goodies, all of which I have now sampled (thanks for your patience Leyna). All come labelled clearly with kcals, macros and ingredients (refer to NutriPro Bake on Facebook for more info).

Lean moist banana peanut butter & choc bread (aka OMFG have I died and gone to heaven?)
Per slice as standard recipe: 328 kcals, 6.9 pro, 47.5 ch, 12.5 fat

This was moist, soft and light, with the banana, chocolate and peanut butter tastes coming through but none of them too strongly. Absolutely delicious! Wowsers.

Choc orange walnut seed lo-carb protein bar
Per slice as standard recipe: 28.5 pro, 11.8 ch, 24.5 fat

Leyna actually emailed me saying she was disappointed with this batch: “That batch was ‘different’ (texture wise) and I know the orange flavour weren’t intense enough…” She needn’t have fretted! I thought this bar was wonderful. Chocolate and orange are the ingredients I can see skipping hand-in-hand into the sunset together, so she was always onto a winner with this one. Yes, it’s a heavy, dense bar but it is a protein bar, not a cake slice. It’s chewy, substantial and better for you than most other protein bars (plus, it’s freshly made, not sat on a shelf wrapped in plastic!) I didn’t eat it all in one sitting, that’s how filling it is!

Lemon Poppy Seed Protein Slice
Per slice as standard recipe: 85 kcals, 8 pro, 7.5 ch, 2.8 fat

This lovely little slice won me over despite not instantly appealing to me. Lemon and poppy seed isn’t a combo which jumps out at me, but I’m so glad I tried this and I’d definitely order it again. It’s really light, beautifully soft with a little crunch from the tiny seeds. Lovely! (By the way, I hope I’m typing the macros out correctly – at the moment, Leyna hand-writes all her labels. Double-check her Facebook page if you want!)

Peanut Butter Seeds Lo-carb Protein Bar
Per slice as standard recipe: 31 pro, 5.9 ch, 18.9 fat

This was another dense, heavy chewy bar like the chocolate one, but pale in colour, containing peanut butter, flax, pumpkin and sunflower seeds and low fat cream cheese. Really lovely! Not too strong, obviously only containing natural ingredients. Again, very filling – I couldn’t eat a whole slice in one go (and I am greedy have a huge appetite!) Very cost-effective.

Vanilla Almond Lo-carb Protein Bar
Per slice as standard recipe: 30 pro, 9.2 ch, 16 fat

Another chewier bar, this one had a stronger taste I think, with the great combination of almond and vanilla. Leyna will customise any of her recipes to suit your needs and tastes, though, and will even come up with completely bespoke recipes for you.

The verdict? Three cheers, hooray, yum yum and thank you, NutriPro Bake. I can highly recommend NutriPro Bake to all my bodybuilder friends and to anyone interested in eating treats which are simply better for you than shop-bought stuff. Not only will you be getting less carbs and fewer nasties (in fact no nasties at all!) but you’ll be getting a hefty dose of important good fats and fibre.

Follow NutriPro Bake on Twitter and NutriPro Bake on Facebook.

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: NutriPro Bake bars is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

2 Responses to Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: NutriPro Bake bars

  1. Oh my. I don’t suppose she ships to the US =( All of these treats looked absolutely delicious!

    Like

Please leave a reply

