Byline in The Washington Post (and “Swim: Why We Love The Water” giveaway)

I don’t just train. I do a bit of work, too 😉 I work as a freelance writer, doing both editorial work (features in consumer magazines, mostly, but some trade/industry publications, too) and commercial work as a copywriter (content for B2B clients, B2C clients and agencies).

I don’t often blog about work (I probably should do so more often), in fact there are only a handful of work-related posts on this blog:

Where you could have found my byline back in May 2010
How to engage with fitness journalists and bloggers
How I became a freelance writer (and other FAQs)
More bylines
My favourite commissions (at that point!)
A few fitness copywriting examples
– And a few more here.
The importance of quality content for fitness professionals

You can also check out some of my clients on my Pinterest board “my lovely clients” (cos they are all lovely – one of the benefits of being freelance is that you don’t have to work with the non-lovely ones).

On the whole, I am excited by everything I write. Every new commission still gives me a thrill, even after eight years. However, this one’s a bit special and I’d really like to shout about it. Indulge me, please. I promise we’ll be back to photos of my weightlifting belt and reviews of protein powders soon 😉

In March, I was contacted by someone who purported to be a commissioning Editor at The Washington Post. Yeah right, I thought. Ha ha! But… it’s not quite 1st April. So maybe this isn’t an April Fool. Sure enough, it was real. The Washington Post had been looking for a book reviewer for the book “Swim: Why We Love The Water” and had found me. (For those of you who have only known me, or this blog, since I took up bodybuilding, you need to know that I come from a swimming background and have swum the English Channel twice). The Editor had read a few of my articles, blog posts and online features about swimming and decided to approach me.

I was very excited. I mean, come on. The Washington Post?

The review came out and is still online here.

Would you like to win a copy of Lynn Sherr’s book, “Swim: Why We Love The Water”? Because you can. I have a spare copy here (not the review copy with my bits of paper stuck all over it).

To win, please:
1) “Like” “Swim: Why We Love The Water” Facebook page
2) Tweet a link to this blog post, including my Twitter name (@thefitwriter) and Lynn’s (@LynnSherr) and include the hashtag #SWIM in your Tweet
3) Come and leave a comment on this blog post to let me know you’ve done those two things… and then tell me your most memorable swimming experience. I’d love to hear about it, no matter where or when it was. Pool, sea, lake or lido… tell me 🙂

Byline in The Washington Post (and “Swim: Why We Love The Water” giveaway) is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

4 Responses to Byline in The Washington Post (and “Swim: Why We Love The Water” giveaway)

  1. arch says:

    Liked and tweeted! When I think about swimming, I immediately think of swimming in Northern Cyprus. Rolling straight out of bed into the outdoor pool is the best way to wake up in the morning. Last time I was out there, me and my friend became known as the water babies, as within 24 hours of arriving, we’d swum five times – including spending a morning in the sea, walking back to the Villa Club and jumping straight in the pool. Most memorable swim there was either doing faux synchronized swimming routines in the Med, or having the pool to myself during a storm and doing backstroke whilst watching crazy clouds.
    When I am rich (ha!) I will own a house with a pool, just so I can jump in first thing and feel invigorated!

    Like

  2. Frog Mom says:

    Done both! Most memorable experience: crossing Lake Kulikalon in the Fan mountains of Tajikistan. Beautiful glacial waters, impressive mountains all around, nobody but me in the water. Got me hooked on open water swimming. I’m looking at crossing the Channel as well but I’ve only done wetsuit open water swimming so far (Alcatraz mostly, Yosemite lakes as well). Not so hot about the no-wetsuit policy.

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Hi and thanks for reading! Your swims sound completely wonderful… I love swimming at the foot of steep hills or mountains, even if it is a bit scary somehow. I hope you get your dream of a Channel crossing one day. If I can be of any help with ideas or contacts, please feel free to email me any time.

      Like

Please leave a reply

