Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: barenakedfood protein noodles

Remember when I reviewed Bare Naked Noodles? Well, I met Ross (the man behind the brand) at this year’s Bodypower Expo and he kindly gave me a pack of barenakedfood‘s new noodles – a high protein version – and I’ve finally got round to trying them.

barenakednoodles
(Watch out, Ross is so hot he has to have a “caution” sign nearby!)

These low-carb, high protein noodles are a great alternative to spaghetti or noodles in stir-fries or will “pasta sauce” type dinners, for those of us who choose not to actually eat pasta or regular noodles. This version of barenakedfood’s noodles are pretty much identical in taste and texture to their original version, but they are significantly higher in protein. They’re high in fibre, have no sugar at all and even help to normalise cholesterol and do their bit to ward off high blood pressure.

Nutritional stats (per 100g – I got about 230g once I’d drained them)
39.75 kcals
9g protein, 1g carbs, 0g fat
5mg sodium

Now, this is not a food blog, and I am not a food blogger! I don’t know how those folk take photos of every last thing they eat every day. So, with that in mind, here is my dinner last night… featuring barenakedfood‘s protein noodles!

(Get more info about the protein noodles – and order – via this page – scroll down 🙂 )

Ingredients
One packet barenakedfood protein noodles
GOOD Hemp hemp oil
Asparagus tips
Shallots
Some big a$$ prawns
Fresh parsley

barenakedfood low carb high protein noodle review

“Recipe”
Heat your oil in a pan, chop your veggies. Cook them up together. Chuck in the prawns (which are already cooked) then tip the noodles in (having drained them first). The noodles only need heating, but if you cook them in a bit of oil they’ll absorb the flavours and take on a bit of texture too.
Plate up, wonder how to take a picture of noodles in an exciting manner. Add parsley and try again.
Eat.

low carb noodle review recipe

The verdict? Great! I couldn’t taste any difference between these and the regular version but I must say I felt very full indeed after this dinner, and wasn’t expecting to because I thought my portion looked a bit meagre (which shows you how much I normally shovel down by way of veggies!) The noodles are really easy to cook, very versatile and a great solution if you want spaghetti or noodles for any kind of dish, or just want to add some protein to a meal without your usual meat/fish/eggs.

where can i buy low carb spaghetti pasta noodles

Thank you, Mr Ross “barenakedfood”! Find them online here or on Facebook here.

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: barenakedfood protein noodles is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

5 Responses to Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: barenakedfood protein noodles

  1. Allie says:

    I’m intrigued…so intrigued that I’ve ordered some!

    Like

  2. flick161 says:

    What are they actually made out of??

    Like

  3. […] Here are the reviews Bare Naked Foods noodle review Bare Naked Foods protein noodle review […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

