My Olympics: day four, equestrian

In this blog series, I take inspiration from one of the day’s Olympic events. Today: equestrianism.

A bit of a cop-out today, in that I haven’t actually done any of the events. I really had to prioritise my own training! I desperately wanted to “do equestrianism” as part of this blog series, though, and had every intention of going to a local stable and hiring a horse for a hack. However, I ran out of time. Our equestrian team won silver today in the team event (and our incredible six-time-Olympian Mary King came fifth in the individual).

So, today’s post is a trip down memory lane. I used to have a horse. Well, I say a horse. More of a fat little pony, really. I was fortunate enough to grow up in a beautiful part of the Kent countryside, and we had access to a great big field. My pony just lived in the field, no stable (not even a shelter, although I did splash out and buy him a rug!) He wasn’t a posh kind of a pony. He ate grass and hay and I only bought any other kind of food in the coldest bits of Winter. We kind of grew up together, muddled through, and taught each other a lot.

We certainly couldn’t have done eventing: I wouldn’t have known how to do dressage and I’m certain he wouldn’t have had the first clue. We did love cross-country, though, and did a bit of show-jumping (usually knocking things down). I even used to enter him in “best in show” kind of things at local gymkhanas, full of misplaced pride. We always came dead last, but I didn’t care because to me he was the best horse in the world.

Here are some pics, with bonus evidence of me looking like a boy. This was before straighteners were invented, and I have very curly hair.

Some sort of show-jumping – the back of this photo says “Sunday 26th May 1991, Calvary Farm” so I would have been 14 🙂

We won a red ribbon (miraculously – it was probably for some kind of knock-out thing where you just had to charge at one jump over and over again until everyone else gave up or fell off)

One of my favourite piccies of him (his name was Sebastian by the way)

Sad times – these two were taken on the day he had to go… I had to sell him when I went off to University because we weren’t a horsey family and I couldn’t have asked anyone to look after him for me whilst I was away. My heart broke that day, and then it broke again the day I found out he’d “passed on”. He was a very old man by then mind you!

Bonus pic of my little sister rocking some awesome mid-90s flowery cycling shorts HAHAHAHAHA sorry Sista! x

Big hugs – those of you who have ever had a horse will know just how I felt…

My Olympics: day four, equestrian is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

3 Responses to My Olympics: day four, equestrian

  1. Auntie Rose says:

    He was a sweetie! Happy memories Nic

    Like

  2. Helen says:

    Ahhh the days of having horses. Me to, we had horses and my one was call Pom. Her show name was Piccolo and I loved her more than anything. The memories that you and the Olympics have brought back have made me smile, thank you.
    Oh and I bet your sister is going to love you for putting that picture up, nice shorts but we’ve all had a pair and back then we thought we the so cool wearing our shorts, grooming the horses and eating pot noodles x

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Hi Helen and thanks for reading! I’m glad this post brought back happy memories of Pom 🙂 We never quite ate Pot Noodles but I do recall filling my saddlebags (real ones, not ones attached to my own hips LOL) with all kinds of junk food and heading out on 3 or 4 hours hacks across the Downs… bliss 🙂 Happy memories. x

      Like

Please leave a reply

