My Olympics: day six, 100m freestyle (swimming)

In this blog series, I take inspiration from one of the day’s Olympic events. Today: the 100m freestyle (swimming).

Sorry about yesterday by the way. I did actually do football, but only with my dog, and he’s not much good with the camera.

As I said in this morning’s Conditioning Chronicles post, I do have a swimming background. Most certainly not a sprinting one, though, and not even really a competitive one. Yes, I have swum in swimming clubs but mainly for the structured training. I was always in either the bottom (slowest) lane apart from one year where I reached the heady heights of second lane in. Open-water solo swims were my thing, slow and steady winning that particular race (if the tide and weather were kind).

Today I tackled the 100m freestyle. This evening, eight of the world’s fastest female freestyle swimmers took to the pool at the Aquatics Centre to blast out two lengths – 100m – to see who would take home the Gold. Our lady Fran Halsall, who qualified in 53.77, came 6th. The winner, Ranomi Kromowidjojo took Gold (the first non-American nation to take a Gold in the pool this Olympics!) in a time of 53:00 – a new Olympic record.

Somewhere in Berkshire, the 9th member of this illustrious crew was limbering up for her own 100m final. It was qualifier, quarter final, semi final and final all rolled into one, cos I wasn’t going to do it again! I wondered if the short course (25m) pool would seriously hamper my blistering pace. I wondered whether I’d be able to manage one tumble turn. I decided against diving in.

The World Record is 52.07
The Olympic Record is 53:00
My time? 1:32:00 🙂

Kromowidjojo, love, your Gold medal is safe. Enjoy it.

How have the London 2012 Olympic Games inspired you today?

My Olympics: day six, 100m freestyle (swimming) is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

Please leave a reply

