My Olympics: day 10, women’s omnium (flying lap)

In this blog series, I take inspiration from one of the day’s Olympic events. Today: part of the women’s omnium.

The track cycling’s a funny thing, isn’t it? All cat-and-mouse strategy, unfathomable points systems and crazy names which sound more like a perfume than a sport (“Omnium! For him, for her, for everyone: the heady notes of the mystical East….”, “Keirin… a blend of leather, birch and tar for the phenomenally phenolic…”).

Anyway, my point is that not many people seem to really understand how track cycling works but by golly we’re good at it. And it’s fun to watch, whether you understand the rules or not.

Today was the start of the women’s omnium, a track cycling event which itself consists of six elements: a 250m flying lap time-trial, a 5km scratch race, an elimination race, an individual pursuit, a 10km points race and then a 500m time-trial. Cyclists accrue points across these events and then the rider with the fewest points wins the omnium.

So far, we’re doing rather well, with GB’s Laura Trott out in front with 12 points.

Once again, I was pushed for time today so, whilst I desperately wanted to go out and do the 3000m steeplechase (honest…), I was limited to something quick which I could do in the gym at the end of my weight session.

Bike sprints! Perfect.

This one was perhaps the most embarrassing of my Olympic challenges. Now, obviously, I wasn’t on a track bike, nor was I on a track. I didn’t have little men holding my bike before I propelled myself forward like a rocket. I just got on the bike, got off again to adjust the saddle, got on again and started pedalling, before doing 4x250m sprints with a recovery between each one. I wasn’t sure what resistance to go for or what RPM to aim for, so I just went for it.

Laura did her 250m flying lap in 14.058, with an average speed of 64.025 km/h. Wowsers.

My flying laps were… less flying that hers. Um:

24.8 seconds
26.3 seconds
25.8 seconds
26.0 seconds

Wait for me, Laura! I’m pedalling as fast as I can….!

How have the London 2012 Olympic Games inspired you today?

My Olympics: day 10, women’s omnium (flying lap) is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

Please leave a reply

