My Olympics: day 15, boxing

In this blog series, I take inspiration from one of the day’s Olympic events. Today: boxing.

Just a quick one for you today cos I’m hungry and need my tea!

Today, I met up with a group of fellow natural bodybuilders at Bodybionic gym in Thatcham. Bodybionic is owned by Nick Openshaw, a bodybuilding competitor and all-round jolly nice chap, and he kindly opened the door (and tubs of protein powder) to a group of us.

After bashing up my chest and shoulders with figure competitor (and new friend) Helen Milton, I headed upstairs to the boxing area for a little bit of boxing coaching with Gym Manager Jacko.

First, we warmed up with a bit of skipping just like any self-respecting light-weight fighter.

Then it was into the ring with my opponent…

She was significantly lighter than me (in fact, it was a mystery as to why we were even fighting in the same category… !) and fast on her feet…

She had me in the first round…

But I got in the final blow in the second round and, just like Cancan Ren, Helen fell to the ground…

I was triumphant! (Well, it is my blog!)

Really? We were both far too tired (and depleted) to go one round, let alone several, but hey I put on boxing gloves and got in the ring! 😉

There’s no women’s boxing on today but, like many of you, I was blown away by Nicola Adams‘s performance the other night and love her story. Whether you see boxing as a skillful, agile, technical sport or are one of those who “can’t watch it” (or don’t think women should box), you can’t deny the girl did great.

So, today was my celebration of Nicola’s history-making Gold medal. Got to go. Mo‘s on! Go, Mo, Go!

How have the London 2012 Olympic Games inspired you today?

My Olympics: day 15, boxing is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

2 Responses to My Olympics: day 15, boxing

  1. Donloree says:

    Now I want to try boxing! You are way too cute! 😀

    Like

Please leave a reply

