3 weeks to go

Good morning all! I just thought I’d check in with a bodybuilding prep progress report.

So, here we are with (less than!) three weeks to go til my first comp of the year (the NPA South East qualifier, in Kent). In two weeks and six days I’ll be tanned up (ah, the smell of tan!) in my (lovely new) bikini and surrounded by friends and family who have blown me away with their levels of support this year.

How am I feeling? Tired and hungry haha! But in terms of thinking about competing again? Very, very excited! I can’t wait. This prep has been so hard, and life in general has been hard. It feels like this competition is my treat, my reward, my time to shine and have fun and do what I love and what I’ve been working towards for so long. Bring it on!

How’s the training? Good, thanks! I’m still lifting heavy (as heavy as I can) and doing well on that side of things (50kgs bench press for 5×5 yesterday – thanks to my new training buddy and FBBBFF for the spot/encouragement). Cardio, too, obviously – a combination of powerwalks most mornings with the dog, some long(er) steady state cardio and some conditioning sessions and intervals-based stuff.

How’s the diet? I don’t want to talk about it. πŸ˜‰ Ah, it’s OK. It’s just a bodybuilder’s diet 3 weeks out from a comp, y’know?

Any fun updates? Hm, any fun updates… any fun updates. Well, I did go to an unofficial BBer meet-up at a local gym a couple of weekends ago, met a few new friends and caught up with a few people I’ve not seen since last year’s comps. Nick Openshaw at Body Bionic gym in Thatcham near Reading welcomed us to his lovely gym and we had a fun time training, posing and eating (some of them ate anyway! I had a Bodybionic protein shake!) I made a fab new friend in figure competitor Helen Milton and we’ve been training together (and generally putting the world to rights) ever since.

Any pics?
Here are some from the Bodybionic meet (via Stee at Flair).

Us ladies posed together, I was the only Physique competitor so we took turns showing each other the differences in our compulsory poses (there is photographic evidence of me trying to pose like a Bikini competitor but you don’t want to see that silliness, believe me… just trust me when I say I’m in the correct category… !)

Me and new friend Helen – “chicks with chains” LOL ;D

And finally, this one surely needs a caption… anyone? (Personally I think it’s like we’re carrying an invisible rickshaw).

And here is a year-on-year progress montage: 3 weeks out from my first comp last year vs 3 weeks out from my first comp this year. My comments? Yes, I was leaner then, but fat can be lost on a prep diet (and will be) but muscle can’t be built and that’s what I’m seeing here! I’m so pleased with my progress and am certain that when I step on stage I’ll be bigger, more balanced, more aesthetic… more of a bodybuilder! And that right there is what this sport is about: building a body, creating a physique, improving year on year. πŸ™‚

3 weeks to go is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

11 Responses to 3 weeks to go

  1. Tara says:

    You look amazing!! Love your abs πŸ™‚ I’m so excited on your behalf. I know you’re going to do great. Your discipline is so inspirational xx

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Thank you Tara! Although I’d say my abs are my weakest bit – having said that, they are most definitely improved on last year (I’ve been working them hard) and I hope, once the last bit of fat has gone, they’ll look pretty different. Like I said in the post, it’s all about making improvements and changes year on year and it pleases me when I see the results of direct efforts like that πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. Sarah C says:

    Good luck – you look fantastic!

    Like

  3. Best of luck dialing it in!

    Like

  4. Looking great Nicola. Big difference between the two pics, brilliant progress! xx

    Like

  5. Donloree says:

    Awesome, awesome, awesome! Love it. I know what you mean about posing like a bikini competitor…WOW, I am horrible at it too. πŸ™‚

    Like

Please leave a reply

