Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Monkey Nutrition whey isolate Primal26

Hello on this lovely sunny day! Although I am now in the stages of my prep-diet where I’ve taken out protein powders (personal preference and just the way Kat & I do things), today’s Fitness kit I’ve reviewed this week is for a whey isolate.

Bold new brand on the block, Monkey Nutrition, sent me a packet of their vanilla whey isolate (and a shaker) a few weeks ago and I’ve since used it in smoothies, as straight-up shakes and as a blend with other protein powders. I give it two enthusiastic thumbs up! Here’s the review.

Monkey Nutrition whey isolate primal26
Monkey Nutrition’s whey isolate, Primal26 contains only whey protein isolate which has gone through various micro- and ultra-filtration processes. It contains no fat, no sugar and only 1g carbs per serving but will give you 26g protein. It’s the ideal choice of protein powder for directly after training, which is mostly how I used it. I appreciated its macros – as I was between six and four weeks out from comp when I was testing it, so the fact that it is so low carb was very handy and meant I could easily fit it in to my diet plans. You can read about whey isolate vs whey concentrate here on the Monkey Nutrition blog.

Primal26 whey protein isolate comes in chocolate, vanilla and strawberry – I was sent the vanilla which I was glad of as it’s so versatile. It was very tasty, not too sweet but a nice pleasant vanilla taste which was good by itself and also worked well if I blended it in with another protein powder. I had it a couple of times on really hot days blended up with a load of icecubes and it made a great “bodybuilder icecream” – it’s got xanthan gum in it, which helps it thicken up a little. It’s sweetened with Stevia, which gets a big hoorah from me, as I really prefer not to have Sucralose these days. (Stevia is a zero-cal sweetener derived from a plant, so it’s natural and gentle on the digestion).

Monkey have put a host of useful extras in their whey isolate, including BCAAs and EAAs isoluecine, leucine, valine, arginine, lysine and also glutamine, so it really is a good choice for a post-gym refuel before you can get your next solid meal down you.

Finally, the folk at Monkey Nutrition seem jolly nice and genuinely interested in helping out gym-goers and athletes of all calibres (I sent an email to one of the company’s founders, asking – in a somewhat over-paranoid manner! – to double-check that anything they were intending on sending me was OK for tested athletes. Not only did the big boss email me back very quickly but he contacted the scientist people behind the formulas, in order to double-triple check and put my mind at rest.)

I know it doesn’t really matter who’s behind the brand when you’re chugging back your protein shake as you walk out of the gym, but I do feel it makes a difference if a company is genuinely interested in its customers, show an understanding of the rules and regulations of various sports and seem to care.

Monkey Nutrition whey isolate protein Primal26

Per 30g serving
110 kcals
0g fat
1g carbs (0g sugar)
26g protein
150 mg sodium

monkey nutrition review
They also sent me a shaker bottle and, I’ll admit, my first thought was “oh another bottle, just what I need…” but actually this one is great and it’s my new go-to bottle! There’s just something about the design – it’s slimmer than a lot of other shakers and it’s slightly tapered, too, so it fits really nicely into the side pocket of my kitbag and into the coffee-cup holder in my car. (It’s also got a nifty spiral thing inside to help blend up whatever powders you’ve got in there). And I’ve just gone online to grab the URL and seen it’s only £3.99, which quite honestly is a steal.

I know. I’m easily pleased. ;D

Thanks, Monkey Nutrition people!

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Monkey Nutrition whey isolate Primal26 is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

6 Responses to Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Monkey Nutrition whey isolate Primal26

  1. paulriley01 says:

    Excellent read i must say, i think you had me sold when i read the article (Primal26), can’t grumble with the price either 🙂

    p.s Any chance of a free cup . . . ha :)~

    Like

  2. Nicola Joyce says:

    Glad you liked it, but the cups aren’t mine to give – you’d have to ask Monkey Nutrition 🙂

    Like

  3. […] too – my two previous Monkey Nutrition reviews, (Monkey Nutrition E-Bomb and Primal23 and Monkey Nutrition Primal 26 whey isolate) still get a lot of hits from people searching for reviews on […]

    Like

  4. […] Nutri1st Advanced protein products Monkey Nutrition whey isolate Primal26 Bio Synergy Bio Synergy and Melanie Sykes supplement range What I learned from the Phil Learney Fat […]

    Like

  5. […] My review of the Phil Learney Fat Loss & Performance Seminar I went to in 2013 – An old review of Monkey Nutrition whey isolate – A review post of Bare Naked Noodles (this pings to the top every time they’re in the […]

    Like

  6. […] Monkeys asked if I’d try the new Primal26 advanced whey isolate, I said sure! I reviewed the previous version of Primal26 here, but this is a new and improved formula with digestive enzymes. I’m off-season at the […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

