Just 7 days to go!

Hi! So, this time next week I’ll be tanned up, glued into a bikini and probably pumping up ready to get on stage. Can. Not. Wait! It feels like it’s been a long time coming this year but, of course, the final few weeks have flown by. Here’s a blast from the bodybuilder-past: my blog post from 7 days out from my first competition last year. It’s funny to see the similarities – and the differences!

Here we are about to enter “peak week”, with the final tweaks to diet, training, hydration, posing and routine. The hard work’s done. Not a lot can be changed now, but subtle differences in carb and water intake will make a difference. I need to practice, practice, practice posing and my routine. Get as much rest and sleep as I can. Chill and enjoy the run-in to the show.

Remember last year when I had crazy prep-dreams? Well, no cold-sweats over the imagined eating of cheap dog chocolates this year, but I did have a dream last night that I got to the venue with no tan on, and couldn’t find anyone to help me. The venue was some kind of massive abandoned warehouse and I was running round but nobody else was there. Finally, with about five minutes to go, I found… Lawrence Llewelyn-Bowen, who kindly offered to put my Dream Tan on. Only he was a right fuss-pot and took a-g-e-s over it. In the end I just had to give up and get on stage with my back tanned but my front still white.

This coming week, I have the following to look forward to (or not… !)
– fewer carbs
– more water
– no sweeteners (bye-bye chewing gum)
– no heavy lifting (lighter weights, higher reps)
– less cardio (hooray)
– more beauty treatments πŸ˜‰
– less work (I’m going to clear my desk so I can have some days off to chill)
– more family! (yippee, the show is in my home county of Kent, so I get to stay with family)

Here are a couple of progress pics, taken yesterday by my training partner, side-kick and all-round right-hand woman Helen. Thanks as always my friend!


One of the most amazing things about the final one or two weeks of prep is that you can see your body changing, almost before your eyes. I wake up looking different to how I did the night before. Sometimes, I change during the day. So, yes, I already look slightly different to how I do in these pics. And, with seven days to go, I know I’m going to look different again by the time I’m on-stage (not to mention browner and shinier πŸ˜‰ )

I really can’t wait to see what the judges think of how I look this year. I have worked so hard to put on size, to bring up the areas which were lacking last year, and to present a more balanced, “bigger”, more body-buildery physique. I’m pleased with what I see. I can only hope they agree.

One more thing: an awful lot of friends and family have said they are coming to the comp on Sunday. In fact, since writing this post and storing it in drafts, another friend has joined the support crew! Quite honestly I’ve been overwhelmed by the level of support and enthusiasm, and I’d like to say thank you to them all. Even if you considered coming, but decided not to, thank you for even thinking of it. And, if you are coming, I hope you enjoy the show! πŸ™‚

I’ll bring you a few updates from peak week if anything interesting happens! In the meantime, if there’s anything you’d particularly like to know, just leave a comment and I’ll do my best to answer. Thanks as always for reading!

Just 7 days to go! is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

8 Responses to Just 7 days to go!

  1. Looking lean Nicola! I’m sure you’ll rock it! …Do you girls seriously glue your bikinis on?!

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Thanks! Well we don’t glue them on, but you can (and most do) use a bit of a special “glue” to stick the edges where you want them. Posing is more active than it looks, and you don’t want things moving about. And of course some people’s routines are full of leg-waving and bending all over the place – last thing you want is to worry about your bikini moving πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Tara says:

    You look awesome!! I can’t wait to see the show recap πŸ™‚ I would have loved to make the journey but my best friend from Oz is here for 4 weeks only and it’s her birthday on Saturday! Good luck – I’m sure you’ll kill it xx

    Like

  3. Sarah C says:

    Good luck! You look strong and beautiful!

    Like

  4. Side chest is excellent! Go get ’em!

    Like

Please leave a reply

