A toddler’s guide to bodybuilding comps

Hello hello! Phew, I’m home, I’m sitting down and I’ve finally got time to write. I haven’t unpacked yet, and this tan will take a while to come off but, you know, let’s blog.

I’ll post a full show report soon (when I have the official photos for illustration) but here’s a quick summary: I came second and got an invite to the NPA British Final next month! 😀 The lady who came first is the competitor I came 2nd to at the BNBF Final last year (she even turned Pro with the BNBF at that comp), and so she’s certainly top competition! It was a good battle, all three of us had fun and it was a lovely atmosphere. The whole show was really enjoyable, and I had a blast all day. I’m very very happy with my progress this year and with how I posed and performed my routine. But, more of that later!


Today, I wanted to blog about some of my two-year-old nephew’s “funnies” from the show yesterday. He’s a chatty little guy and very funny (did you see his impersonation of Lou Ferrigno?). He did come to this competition last year but was too young to be saying much and I’m not sure he understood what it was about at all. This year, he got into it a lot more.

So here is Henry’s guide to bodybuilding competitions.

What to say…
– when you see your Auntie’s tanned-up feet: BEEN PLAYING IN THE MUD, BEBE?
– when you are impressed by a pose: THAT’S A BIGGER ONE!
– when you are really impressed by a pose: THAT’S A REALLY BIGGER ONE!
– during the men’s classes, when you see competitors with particularly small trunks: THAT’S A WILLY! AND THAT’S A WILLY! AND THAT’S A WILLY… (etc)
– when competitors leave the stage to get ready for their individual routines: WHERE THE BOYS GONE?
– if a competitor begins their routine lying down on the stage: SHE HAVING A NAP?
– when your Auntie walks out on stage but she’s a funny colour: THAT’S NOT BEBE?!
– when your Auntie is doing a lat-spread: OPEN UP! OPEN UP!
– when you disapprove of your Auntie’s tan: BEBE HAVE A SHOWER NOW?

nicola joyce NPA miss physique
And, this morning, he was studying my trophy in great detail. He asked me to read what the engraving said, so I told him: “NPA South East Champs 2012, Miss Physique, 2nd” He looked at me, shrugged, and said “Mrs 2nd”. Much easier, I agree! LOL!

Henry hopes you find this handy guide helpful. He also says that he’s learned there’s no point offering a bodybuilder a crisp, a plum or a “happle” the night before a comp… but the next morning, wow, you’d better protect your croissant with your life ;D

A toddler’s guide to bodybuilding comps is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

2 Responses to A toddler’s guide to bodybuilding comps

  1. Tara says:

    So cute! Congratulations!! I can’t wait to hear more about the comp 🙂

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      He is the cutest ❤

      Thanks, hope to do an update today or tomorrow – it will be just as soon as Fivos sends the pics. He's put one or two on FB already so he's obviously working hard on them today. x

      Like

Please leave a reply

