Muscles from Brussels

When two people send you Tweets about Brussels sprouts, on the same day and quite independently of each other, you know you need to take note.

“Eating sprouts and thinking of you!” said Jenna. A little while later, Jj declared “Nic, I can’t LOOK at a sprout without thinking of you!” I felt proud, and not a little humbled 😉 Ha ha!

Elsewhere on the interweb (well, Facebook mostly) I am becoming renowned for my love of this much-maligned brassica. Brussels are for life (when they’re in season), not just Christmas!

The truth is, my favourite way of preparing Brussels sprouts is nothing fancy. In fact, it was born out of prep dieting which, as we all know, is bereft of pancetta and glugs of oil and toppings of butter of parmesan cheese.

Yet it is this simple recipe which has been adopted by various friends and social media folk (even those who previously thought they “hated” Brussels sprouts) and so I am happy to share it with you here.

I warn you, it takes… ooh… about 5 minutes prep time.

Ingredients
– Brussels sprouts
_ (optional: spray oil, salt, pepper, chili flakes)

Method

Tip your Brussels sprouts into the baking tray. If any of them are giganto-Brussels, cut them in half (through the stem, so the halves stay in one piece). Spray with oil. Sprinkle with seasonings of your choice. Bake in a hot-ish oven (sorry can’t be more specific – hot enough that they cook, not so hot that the outsides burn) until done. Done is slightly blackened and crispy outside leaves, soft and caramelised insides.

They are delicious I promise you. Not a hint of the bitter taste which some people find with raw or boiled (bleee!) Brussels. Lovely straight from the oven and also great cold. They keep for a few days in the fridge. I tend to prepare about 1kg of them at a time and keep for snacks or sides during the week.

Particularly lovely are the little mini baby Brussels – just tip ’em in and off you go. Yum!

Muscles from Brussels is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

9 Responses to Muscles from Brussels

  1. One Fit Mama says:

    Love sprouts! I cook mine the same but with a handful
    Of almonds – mmmmm

    Like

  2. Karen/karryann says:

    Just tried my sprouts ‘Nic style’ I love sprouts , but will only ever do them your way now, awesome xxxxxx

    Like

  3. Gotta love the sprouts, a superbly healthy veg. I make mine with Sesame oil though…it’s the tasty way IMO

    Like

  4. I’ve never understood why folks don’t seem to much like brussel sprouts. I have always loved them. Nice healthy recipe will certainly give this a try.

    Like

    • Nicola Joyce says:

      It’s genetic – you either love them (or at least like them) or really can’t stand the taste. Apparently the gene TAS2R38 governs whether or not we can taste PTC (phenylthiocarbamide) and experience some tastes as bitter. You & I don’t have that gene! 🙂

      Like

  5. Well I never knew that! I guess you learn something new every day. Funnily enough both my daughters love brussel sprouts but my husband really detests them. I always used to joke with him that he was probably force-fed them as a child. Instead there is a perfectly rational scientific explanation. Good to know!

    Like

  6. […] amazing shopping bag from Whole Foods (my love of veg – particularly Brussels sprouts – is now reaching legendary proportions… ) I don’t think we can get these bags at […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

