Bodybuilding prep update (20 weeks out?)

It’s been a while since I talked about training, prep or this year’s competitions, so here’s an update.

I’m currently either 20 or 22 weeks out, depending on which show I do. Sorry to be vague and cryptic but I’m not 100% sure yet, and I won’t be revealing the show til a lot nearer the time anyway (although those of you with the various federations’ calendars at hand will be able to work it out fairly easily!)

I’m still working with Vicky Bradley and everything is going really well, I’m very happy with progress and excited to see how things turn out.

I’ve been under Vicky’s small but surprisingly muscular lats for nearly seven weeks now. I’m onto my second lot of training sessions with her – the first block focused on my bigger lifts, great technique, lower reps (very low for me!), working out just how much weigh I can handle and getting some more muscle on me. This new block of training is bringing in work which will bring more balance and shape to my physique.

Progress is being made: not only do I look and feel better, but I’m getting stronger, and the stats are there in black and white. In six weeks I’m down:

3.6kgs
We think about 4.5% body fat from Vicky’s calipering.
2.3cms hips
6cms waist (!)
5cms chest/back

The only thing which hasn’t budged is arm measurement, although body fat/skinfold has come down.

This is from about 3 weeks ago…
4f36ed44790911e29d6822000a9e0849_6

This is from last Sunday at a BNBF club/meet at Body Bionics Gym
cae41508843411e28ef622000a1fa434_6

As is this….
e5f76bb6843311e2a3d522000a9f13e2_6

I’m in the gym four days a week:
Saturday – deadlifts, hamstrings, glutes, back and calves
Sunday – chest and triceps
Tuesday – back and shoulders
Wednesday – squats, quads and calves

And doing posing practice, stretching, foam rolling and postural/remedial work a couple of times a week at home. No cardio (other than two fast dog walks of about 45 mins every day).

Eating (I can’t really call it dieting yet!) is simple and enjoyable. Lots of meat, fish, eggs and veg, good fats and veg (including spuds). The plan is to slowly bring bodyfat down to a reasonable “year round” level, teaching me and my body good, sustainable habits along the way. Never mind the comp, this is about finding habits and routines which work for me and can then work for me all year round. Then, from there, we’ll worry about “prep diet”. But the idea is that, by then, there won’t be a huge amount to lose anyway.

b34f4df266ea11e2871d22000a1f92db_6

3589ca5c6ecc11e291b222000a1f98fa_6

2e7b4bd2630011e293ab22000a9f1919_6

d3ddcfb681a811e2902222000a1fa52b_6

How about you – how’s your training going? 🙂

Bodybuilding prep update (20 weeks out?) is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

6 Responses to Bodybuilding prep update (20 weeks out?)

  1. Oh wow where did you get that HUGE tub of Almond butter? WANT!

    Your back looks amazing.

    I’m having all my lifts torn apart and rebuilt at the moment (in a good way!) and really enjoying relearning what I thought I knew.

    Like

  2. The countdown begins…happy trails;)

    Like

  3. Trish says:

    All sounds very positive, keep up the good work x

    Like

Please leave a reply

