It’s back…. Notch Watch 2013

Remember Notch Watch? It’s something I did last year, starting at New Year (possibly not my finest idea!) and I kept monitoring the notches of my lifting belt up until two weeks out (when I ran out of notches).

IMG_4218

I realised I hadn’t watched any notches yet this year (not my own, anyway) so took my belt in with me today for squats and snapped a quick pic before getting started.

Well – excuse the mega-baggy vest – but here we are on notch 6 of 8 with 20-ish weeks of prep left to my qualifier! (For comparison, I was on notch 5 of 8 at around this time last year.) I was pretty surprised by that. And it wasn’t even that tight – it was as tight as you’d do it up for squats but comfortable enough to walk about in.

IMG_4223

I can already tell that this year’s prep (and life in general) is different, and is showing itself as such on my body. I’m much leaner on the abs than I was this time last year (in fact I reckon I’m leaner on the abs than I was at about 6 or 8 weeks out). That’s cortisol for you! As ever, the human body fascinates me.

IMG_4220

I still have a long way to go before reaching the kind of stage condition I intend on presenting this year, but that’s just as well, in fact it’s really quite handy because there’s a way to go on the calendar too. πŸ˜‰ I have a feeling it will all be timed just right.

Things with coach Vicky Bradley are still going great. I’ve started a new set of training programmes (I mentioned that here) and since my weight hasn’t moved much for a couple of weeks, I’ve also just started a slightly changed diet, to get things moving again.

Other than that, not a lot to report, because I’m happy and confident and feeling very positive!

Stay tuned for more Notch Watch – as and when I remember, that is.

It’s back…. Notch Watch 2013 is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

4 Responses to It’s back…. Notch Watch 2013

  1. Trish says:

    I am following worth interest. I would say you already look fab! Well done x

    Like

  2. Rachel says:

    Love your blog and Instagram posts! I’m from New Zealand and competing (in figure, different I know) for the first time this year. You are a total inspiration to women! I’m still around 30 weeks away from my comp and people like you show me what dedication and hardwork looks like! Not a stalker, just a fan, keep up the awesome work you look freaking incredible!

    Like

    • Nicola Joyce says:

      Wow, thank you so much for this lovely message!

      I wish you all the best in your Figure comp πŸ˜€ How exciting! My first prep coach (she’s mentioned on the blog a lot – Kat Millar) is a Kiwi, I met her when she was living over here, she’s now living in Sydney.

      Thanks for reading – and for the comment πŸ™‚

      If you’ve got a blog, let me know, I’d love to read about your progress

      Nic x

      Like

Please leave a reply

